Recent Listening #1 - ( ) by Sigur RossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music5 years ago (edited)

I started getting into Post-Rock fairly recently, and the band that was at the top of many post-rock lists was Sigur Ros. Hailing from Iceland, Sigur Ros are, from what I can tell, one of the most highly-regarded post-rock bands ever, with their album Ágætis byrjun particularly noteworthy.

So of course, I listened to that album first and I loved it. The soothing atmosphere and beautiful pulsating sounds appealed to me a lot. Starálfur is probably my favourite from the album and thanks to the soaring violins and beautiful vocals it's one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard.

But enough about that album, I'm here to talk about ( ). In their infinite wisdom, Sigur Ros decided "Why not make an album called ( ) and have all the songs be untitled. While we're at it why don't we make all the lyrics nonsense and not a real language?" It sounds utterly ridiculous but it works! Instead of needing to deal with lyrics, this stylistic choice allows Jonsi's (the singer) vocals to act more as an instrument to add to the instrumentation of the songs. I love it.


( ) is divided into two halves; the first half (consisting of tracks 1-4) is softer and calmer, focusing on soft textures and soothing atmospheres while the second half (tracks 5-8) is a bit heavier and rockier, and has more traditional rock and post-rock elements (some of the first half could probably be called ambient),

Track by track thoughts:

Untitled 1 - Vaka

A very depressing song, definitely makes me sad at the start. I love the explosion of music near the end of the track, gives a beautiful progression from depressing to triumphant/uplifting. Beautiful song.

10/10

Untitled 2 - Fyrsta

More melancholic than depressing like the last song, Fyrsta is, of course, beautiful (I'll be using that word a lot). The sort of 'whine' that is present throughout the majority of the song is interesting, and I don't really know what I think of it. It's very pretty but a little irritating at times. I love the bit (at 5:05 for example) where the vocals and violins (are those violins?) soar and fall back down.

10/10

Untitled 3 - Samskeyti

This completely instrumental track is probably my favourite. While it could be considered repetitive I love the way it builds and builds with a simple piano loop playing over and over with different bits in the background being introduced over time. The moment at about 4:45 when the piano bit changes slightly to higher notes is incredibly effective and gets me every time. One of my favourite songs ever.

10/10

Untitled 4 - Njósnavélin

I don't have many thoughts on this track, it's just fantastic like the previous ones.

10/10

Untitled 5 - Alafoss

Again not too many thoughts here. The buildup isn't as perfect here, but I love the climax.

9/10

Untitled 6 - E-bow

E-bow has some great guitar playing throughout and finishes with an incredible explosion which has a lot of layering parts. E-bow is also notable for its name (all these names are unofficial names from the band, they're all still untitled), as an e-bow is used on the bass in this song.

10/10

Untitled 7 - Dauðalagið

The longest song on the album, Dauðalagið (the death song) is probably the heaviest and darkest song on the album with dynamic loud and quiet parts throughout. Not among my favourites, but still fantastic.

9/10

Untitled 8 - Popplagið

This song is a bit like two songs in one. The first half is soothing and calm while the second half is a lot heavier and bombastic. I love when the drum section starts up in the middle of this song and how the vocals and guitars are brought in as it builds up. It gets more and more frantic as it goes on and it ends with some brilliant all-out drumming

10/10

As you can probably tell, I absolutely adore this album and it's one of my new all-time favourites.

On Youtube

On Spotify

Edit: I think I'll be renaming these to just 'Album Review'



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.atomcollectorrecords.com/blog/2019/07/19/recent-listening-1-by-sigur-ros/

Sort:  

Never heard of them but they seem nice

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah they're great. Highly recommended!

Will try to follow them

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @comparestore! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi comparestore,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

great curation right there! Kudos for sharing @comparestore

Thank you very much!

what a great , in depth review , it's made me want to check it out for my self, sounds like my kind of thing , Il save on spoty for later .

Thank you! I hope you enjoy them!

From time to time I am coming back to Sigur Rós tracks and thanks to your post I had an opportunity to refresh it again and realize that they record something new.
Have you heard their newest album, released in April 2019 ? It is called Variations On Darkness
It is a Long Play limited album with only 4, but quite long tracks :) Just launch the A-side on the youtube and it sounds .... well. I am leaving the review for you and I am waiting for it :)

I haven't heard it yet no! In fact, I really need to listen to the rest of Sigur Ros' albums! Maybe I'll review all of them at some point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76