Scales Progress Report #1! (Quarter note = 72)

in #music7 years ago

One of the goals I mentioned in my recent goals update was to upload my progress in scales and arpeggios. I did not have time to make a recording of the arpeggios tonight, but I had enough to make scales (barely). My speed for this week was a quarter note = 72bpm (played as 16th notes). Mr. Barone said that by the time I graduate high school he wants me to be able to play it as 16th notes at no less than 180 to the quarter note. (Want a good comparison to how fast that is? Lying down on the keyboard of the piano, and doing the worm as fast as physically possible). Anyway, I will explain the different scales.

Here is my progress report for this week: (All 36 scales played by me)

Here is some background information about each variety of scale. (sorry didn't have time to think of a neat way to depict it).

Key

W = Whole Step

H = Half Step


Major Scale (Equivalent to the Ionian Mode) (C Major Scale example)

      C

/        

W

\     

      D

/

W

\

      E

/

H

\

      F

/

W

\

      G

/

W

\

      A

/

W

\

      B

/

H

\

      C       

Natural Minor (Not played in Video, Same as the Aeolian mode) (A Minor Scale example)

      A

/        

W

\     

      B

/

H

\

      C

/

W

\

      D

/

W

\

      E

/

H

\

      F

/

W

\

      G

/

W

\

      A     

Harmonic Minor (Same as the Natural minor except the 7th scale degree is raised a half-step) (A Minor Scale example)

    A

/        

W

\     

      B

/

H

\

      C

/

W

\

      D

/

W

\

      E

/

H

\

      F

/

Augmented 2nd

\

      G#

/

H

\

      A     

Melodic Minor (Same as the Harmonic minor except the 6th scale degree is raised a half-step) (A Minor Scale example)                       

      A

/        

W

\     

      B

/

H

\

      C

/

W

\

      D

/

W

\

      E

/

W

\

      F#

/

W

\

      G#

/

H

\

      A 


Image source:

Circle of fifths (Public Domain)  


Piano Keys (Public Domain) 


Quarter Note (Public Domain) 


Thanks for reading this! Let me know if you are interested in me posting these reports weekly. Next week hopefully I will have enough time to record arpeggios as well. As always, feedback is appreciated, and see you later!




    

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, [Something else will eventually go into this space]!


Sort:  

Thank you for posting @cmp2020. bleujay enjoyed the post and scales very much.

All the best to you and your family. Cheers.

No problem, thanks for the feedback!

Yeah sure, thanks for the invite. I'm gonna need a while to figure out a good set up though.

Just you playing an instrument in a well-lit room and recorded on a cell phone will work just fine.

Ok, thanks. I will start picking a repertoire.

☆☆☆☆☆😎

If you adjust the speed to double on the youtube video, you can hear what it'll sound like when you get to 144 quarter notes per minute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87