"How Can I keep From Singing?" Folk Song Piano CoversteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I have found many good singing versions of this folk song on YouTube, but I did not find many good piano covers, so I decided to try to make my own. Though I do take voice lessons, I don't think my voice qualifies to sing the beauty of this song, and I don't have quality equipment to record singing. (Please note I just came up with this on the fly adding chords under the melody, so I do make a few mistakes). Please let me know if you think this is a good cover, and I challenge any singers to make a cover of this song in the next week. Good Luck!


Lyrics (Eventhough I don't sing in this video)

My life flows on in endless song;

Above earth's lamentations,

I hear the real, tho' far off hymn

That hails a new creation; 

Through all the tumult and the strife

I hear its music ringing;

It sounds an echo in my soul-

How can I keep from singing?


Although the tempest loudly roars,

I hear the truth, it liveth.

Bot though the darkness 'round me close

Songs in the night it giveth.

No storm can shake my inmost calm

While to that rock I'm clinging;

Since love is lord of heaven and earth,

How can I keep from singing?


When tyrants tremble, sick with fear,

And hear their death-knell ringing,

When friends rejoice both far and near, 

How can I keep from singing?

In prison cell and dungeon vile, 

Our thoughts to them are winging;

When friends by shame are undefiled,

How can I keep from singing?


[Image Source: Pixabay.com, license:  CC0 Public Domain]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09