Where It All Began

in #music6 years ago

COD ROCKUMENTARY DESIGN HEADER_1.jpg
Artwork Designed by @chugsonjoe

Chapter 2 of “Chugs On Deck – Rockumentary” is here! I am trying to make the timelines more, you know, “organized”. Let me take you way back before there is Chugs On Deck. I am not a guitarist in fact, I am no musician, and instead I am just a listener. I love music so much, from Michael to Justin, The Beatles to Paramore, Eminem to Drake, yes I love their pieces and I love how influential they are. “One day, I wanna be just like them”. That’s what was in my mind before. That is way back in 2008, when I started serious in guitar playing, experimenting chords and experimenting with Guitar Pro composition, and yes I learn guitar by myself through Tabs. During that time, it is hard to get an Internet connection. Because, you know during that time, there is not having Unifi or Mobile Data like today. But, struggle is really is real.

Funny thing is that, when I started joining a band (that time “Exartmusthicate”), I started in this band as a drummer, as said by maybe non-musician, playing drum is easy. It is not. Seriously it is not. Although, it is hard to play but one thing I learned and experienced is that playing drums make you befriend with the metronome. Yes! The “metronome” that most of the people I know, hate to listen to, to play with. Metronome is no longer an issue for me because my ears are used to it, plus, I am doing my own recording, so I always listen to the metronome. You guys should listen and get use to metronome also, at least for musician. Anyway, moving on, starting as a drummer in that band, I then move to the bass position and also co-write most of the song. Too bad that the band had already disbanded due to commitment issue, well I do not regret having the band because I believe that it is part of my journey and I appreciate it. We have been recording in a studio, been playing few gigs and also with this band, I get to play outside from Sabah and release 3 songs online and one of it is “Losing you”.

2012, move to Kota Kinabalu, Sabah for my studies and I met new people and getting involve in the music scene. But I only started went for a gig in 2013, at Cowboy Bar I guess. Anyway, moving on to the next band I join that is Miles Of Hope and this is I really get into Pop Punk music. Well, kinda. The terms Easycore was introduced to me by Khairul (now in a band called Story Ends). I had been given to listen to Chunk! No, Captain Chunk,
A Day To Remember, Four Year Strong and few bands which makes me so mind fudged because you know I never heard of a band combined a sub-genre to sub-genre song, which is kinda unique and rare, at least to me. You know like a, you play Pop Punk song and then you play it with Metal’s riff, so it sounded heavy and then suddenly when it go through a chorus it changes to a happy song, so Pop and catchy. To me, I am digging it because it has been my soul to Pop song. I want to be like the next King of Pop or the next King of Easycore? I guess. I would never know the future. Long story short, I am in love with this kind of concept but it saddens me because the band unfortunately cannot make it, as a band.

CHUGS ON DECK 2018 PHOTO.jpg

That’s where I form Chugs On Deck with the former member, Khai. We started recruiting members; we invited @eyonlapar and others (Pam, Roslan, and Ajis). After few months of setting up the band, we thought that this current not making any progress to be a band (as a whole band), we decided to discharge them (in a good way, some) and start recruiting new members such as Rafi (former Riot In Asia’s drummer) and @bobbylexander (former Borneo Bros’ bassist). From there, we started to write songs and record a demo for our EP, that is back on 2014, half way through the recording session, some unfortunate event happens and we have to let go of Khairul and that’s when we recruited @amle (former Miles Of Hopes and many other band). From there, we release our very first song "Dance! Friend" making our debut as a band in Sabah Music Scene. That’s when our journey started, when we really did not expect that the music business is so interesting and fun to ride.

TO BE CONTINUED


>> CLICK HERE FOR CHAPTER 1 <<

JORDAN-STEEMIT-GIF.gif

smallkkms.gif

Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

and the journey still continue and getting really serious damn level hahah

May the force be with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51