Gold Panda Painting: Music as my Muse {process photos + animation}

in #music6 years ago (edited)

As I turned on my Gold Panda Pandora station to listen to while I worked today, I thought I'd share the painting I did of him a couple years ago. I originally painted him because when I happened upon his music, I was in a music drought and his songs helped me get through an entire month. Music is something that helps balance my mood and keeps me motivated, and I couldn't stop listening to his intriguing combination of sounds. It really meant a lot to me! I actually wrote a whole post last year about music's influence here.

I was visiting my mom, @connielubbert, and I always bring my painting supplies because we love working together. I had a couple of days to paint whatever I wanted after reaching commission deadlines, so I set up my little station and got to work!

Gold Panda_Muse_Christie Snelson.jpg

This is the photo that I found of him that inspired the painting. I was trying to use the reference loosely and wanted to reveal my process within the final piece.

gold panda reference.jpeg

Some process photos:

gp detail 1.jpg

gp detail 2.jpg

gp detail 3.jpg

The final...

Frame1.jpg
20x16 acrylic + oil on canvas

I posted the painting on Twitter thanking him for his music, and I admit I fan-girled when he replied :O Fun sense of humor too.

gold panda tweet.jpg

I also turned this one into an animation when I went through my animating kick.

It's actually currently on display in the gallery at ideaXfactory for their "We Could Be Heroes" exhibition. I'll have to post about that soon. There are so many amazing artists in this area I'd love to show off.

ideax_12.jpg

I highly recommend Gold Panda's music. I'm not the best at genres but Wikipedia lists him as "Electronica, UK garage, post-dubstep, folktronica, Ambient, microhouse, minimal techno". I love it because it can really put you into that flow state while creating. I think "An Iceberg Hurled Northward Through Clouds" is my favorite. Hope you enjoy!

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84