Sirsy at Shifty's Bar & Grill – Friday, May 26

in #music7 years ago

My favorite "local" band Sirsy was back in Syracuse on Friday night, this time playing at Shifty's Bar & Grill. Shifty's lives up to its name, being a dive bar that is pretty much guaranteed to deliver on all kinds of weirdness on any given night. This past Friday was no exception. In fact, in light of my previous visits there, it quite possibly turned out to be one of the higher levels of weird (though, the night my brother got kidnapped by a cougar still ranks pretty high on that list).

Despite its weirdness and hole-in-the-wall vibe, Shifty's does have some good food. In particular, their wings are great, often cited as one of the best wing joints in the city. They're bigger than a lot of other places, and they're juicy and saucy enough that even when you're full, you just want to keep eating more. And they don't skimp on the bleu cheese – I hate getting a dozen wings only to have to scrape the condiment dish just to get a tiny little smear of bleu cheese onto the wing.

Of course, the band was great, as usual. They did a new cover song, and they revived one of their own songs ("Spark") that they haven't played in public for awhile. These they played alongside some of their good old standbys, including "Wishless" (which made a rare 1st-set appearance) and "Mary Concetta," which is a fun dancing song that the Shifty's crowd always gets behind.

That said, I only stayed for one set. I just couldn't handle the Shifty's vibe. I was tired, for one thing, despite having taken a short nap right after work. But yeah, the people – it always comes down to the people. I don't know if it was the relatively warm weather or the start of a long weekend, or perhaps a little of both, but the weirdness factor was amped up that night. And then just when you thought it couldn't get weird enough, in walked a guy in a full-on leopard-print suit…tie included.

So while I didn't stay the entire evening, overall I'm glad I went. Not sure when I'll get out to see Sirsy again – I'll be out of town the next time they're in Syracuse – but I'll be sure to post about them when I do! In the meantime, check out their tour schedule.

All pictures taken by me.


Recent Posts


Follow Curtis Follow Bookdotes

Sort:  

Congratulations @caweyant! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91