Dig Down - STEEM EXCLUSIVE original music video

in #music6 years ago (edited)


I wrote and recorded this song in my parents' basement on the first night of my recent vacation back to my hometown of Haines, Alaska. Despite traveling literally all day to get there, and with two young children to boot, I was full of energy and wide awake the first night of our stay. After everyone else fell asleep I took a long walk in the late Alaskan twilight down on the beach that I used to play on as a child. When I got back to my parents' house I picked up my old guitar (my first guitar, which now lives in my parents' basement) and wrote this tune.

I helped dig that basement by hand, with pick and shovel, filling up 5 gallon buckets of dirt to send up a make-shift conveyor belt to my dad's old dump truck. Of course my parents finished the basement the year that I left for college, so I never really reaped the fruits of my labor.

Now, the basement is jam packed full of the collections of objects needed to be a fix-it guy who can fix anything. That is my dad. He can fix almost any kind of mechanical or electrical device you can think of, and he has probably saved all the parts needed and knows just where they are in the chaos. The basement is also where all of my old stuff and the accumulated stuff of my siblings ended up. Old school folders, coin and rock collections, toys, baseball cards... all crammed into shelves and stacked in alcoves and teetering in piles.

I plan on writing an entire post about the basement, it is full of very strange and wondrous things and is a delightfully strange window into the mind of my father. I picked up a magnifying glass that was lying around and took some interesting video clips through it which I used in this music video.

All music, pictures and video by moi

Much love - Carl

Dig Down - lyrics

I want to dig down, down to the bedrock
I want to dig down, down to the bottom
I want to take shovels and picks to the rocks and the dirt
I want to fill buckets and buckets and truckloads of earth

I want to go down, down to the basement
I want to go back, back where it started
I need to remind my brain - because these cells aren't the same
I want to drink straight from the tap of the unfiltered batch

I want to do gown, down to the water
I want to do down, down to the beach
Sometimes it's just out of reach
It's on the tip of the tongue
It's a sound in the dark
and the memories spark

I want to slow down, and savor this moment
I wand to slow down, pause and rewind it
But the hours must pass, neither slower nor fast
and regrets of the future must echo in the past
But the hours must pass, neither slower nor fast
and regrets of the future must echo in the past


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Didn't read yet but.... FUCK YES

You're such a great guy. Missed you when I got back. Missed you when you were gone on a holiday. Loved the huge mushrooms earlier so I'm going to cry when i see your findings in the basement below.

The magnified object in the clip, was it a old hanging watch? 😎😎😎

that is probably one of the first clocks in Haines, Alaska :) My dad found it sticking out of the side of a streambed in one of the oldest homestead sites in the woods around town. It rusted through to the clockwork mechanism inside. Pretty cool!

Really? That's awesome. Was there a (visible) brand name engraved on the clock? ( I don't think so xD, but that would be so awesome to trace a bit of history)

Ruben I thought of you several times on vacation when I was looking out over some incredible vista or another. And all I had was my Samsung Galaxy S8 to take a picture with :) You would not believe some of the shots you could get up there. If you ever get the itch to travel to Alaska, my parents are great hosts and absolutely love having visitors from abroad. They have set up a little guest suite. Just let me know I will hook you up :)

At this moment I wish I had 1 million SP to upvote this comment to the moon. Alaska is on the bucket list! I have sooo many countries to visit. You took some really surprising shots, like 'only in Alaska' you will find these kinds of treasures. I would love to go there, maybe next time you're going? :D We can go hunt for Cyclops!

This is my favorite Carl Gnash music vid to date. The backstory behind the making of the vid was a lovely share too. I do want to read more on the basement, so looking forward to that. Did not know you were from Alaska originally. More pictures please?

So loved the performance, it felt intimate and soulful. I know you’re a funny guy, but it’s these pieces of you that I enjoy most. I’m rereading the lyrics now too...❤️

thanks Linny! Yeah it is very intimate, because I recorded it in the middle of the night and my kids were sleeping in the room directly above the part of the basement I was recording in so I couldn't get very loud :)

That song is great and the video as well!
Nicely done.
My only question is if dad was making cider in the basement. What are the glass carboys for?

yeah the lyric right there is "I want to drink straight from the tap of the unfiltered batch" and it refers to my dad's alcoholic beverage making down in the basement. I don't think any of those are cider though. Red and white wine and various meads. You can see his recipes scribbled on the whiteboard behind the carboys - I can see two of the recipes are for elderberry mead :)

Sounds delicious! :)

Some more excellent and original content here Mr Nash!

Combining the clips worked really well, and having a story behind the track made it even more enjoyable.

Thanks for the late night share :D

Thanks Asher! This was the most involved video edit I have done for Steem yet :)

I'm impressed with how pro it looks. And a bit irked at the lack of dtube vote - come on guys!

This post has been selected for curation by @isaria and has been upvoted with the @msp-music account as well as the @msp-curation account, and will be featured in @isaria's weekly music curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!

Awesome thanks @isaria!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Hola Carl! This is a really cool song! ever thought about putting a band on the arrangement? drums? bass? your voice is also matching the chords perfectly! looking forward to hearing more.

Hi Dear @carlgnash
Just Started FOLLOWING YOU...
We like this post,
PLS FOLLOW @important-to-us
To Know More About Us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38