You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: you're an artist when you SAY you're an artist.

in #music6 years ago

I'm trying to teach my kids that now -- they're 14 and 11. I didn't get into playing music until I was 21, and by then it seemed that I had a career path mapped out. When I hear people not just say what you just said, but actually do it, I always feel admiration and pangs of regret that I'm working a job that I hate. But I do get to play music semi professionally and Steem might help me with that. And you, too.

But following dreams man - that's a huge thing in life. I'm glad to have found your music.

Sort:  

again, with a comment / reply that hits me in my heart. thank you, man. sincerely. i sometimes feel like the biggest fool in the room to have spent so much of my time and energy on pursuing a dream that hasn't always "made sense," while my friends get their second homes and their third teslas and i'm deciding between bologna sandwiches or mac and cheese ;) but then i get encouragement like this and it makes it all worth it. thank you. a thousand times: thank you.
can't wait to hear / see / experience the art that comes from you and your kids! the world needs it! keep creating!

You're welcome. For me, it's about my guitars. They bring me joy and solace when the world can seem otherwise cold and cruel. I'm at the age now where I'm wondering what went wrong, you know? But seeking through spiritual means to feel gratitude rather than resentment. It's weird, but this Steemit platform is helping me to find that gratitude and use my own voice. I spent years working on guitar tablature and learning songs I like, but never learning to 'play' what was inside me. I can feel that beginning to change now.

And no, it's not too late -- this is me telling myself -- self-expression can be cathartic. The older I get, the more I feel like art is the most important thing, that and love. But life and the ego man. What was it John Lennon said?

Life is what happens to you while you are busy making other plans.

I kinda like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39