Music Challenge, Day Seven: A Memorial Song for Summer 2017

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I heard this song for the first time on my way to work on August 3, 2017. When I arrived to my classroom that day, I learned that the mother of one of our children had been killed when a train collided with her vehicle the night before. This wasn't any mother. This was the first mom who had ever made a serious effort to be my friend, and I do make it difficult. The wall between my personal and professional life doesn't allow for any migrants. However, "M" had a tactical arsenal of openness, generosity, and fun which allowed her to sneak up and blow a few bricks right out of my wall. In the course of just seven short months I had more conversations, received more gifts, and spent more time outside of work with this woman (wearing the sweater she let me borrow for the evening!) than with any other parent in my twelve years of working with children.

The lyrics of the second verse of this song encapsulate M's personality: an openness which warmly welcomed me, without reserve, coupled with a lack of discernment which kept me wary.

"Meet me in the Garden of Eden
Bring a friend; we are gonna have ourselves a time.
We are gonna have a garden party. It's on me!
No siree, it's my dime.

We broke our hearts in the war between St. George and the Dragon.
But both in equal parts are welcome to come along.
I'm inviting everyone."

Additionally, M and I were both born in '81, eleven days apart. I originally promised that I would pray for her child every day, following the news of her death. I've since broken that promise, of course, but I hope I never completely forget, and I sincerely hope that I will see M again, and that we really will be friends.

I found this music challenge on the blog of @kiwideb, originally the idea of @jokossita.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41