Music the way we remember it

in #music7 years ago

Think back to your favorite song, the lyrics that sent chills down your spine, maybe a haunting chorus that echoes and reverberates within your daily life while you perform the daily mundane tasks of everyday normal life. Maybe that was your call to arms.
"From this day forward I will study and change my life to become (insert life's calling here)."

It didn't have to be a song, any significant event that empowers you to enact change is your call.

For me it was seeing my older cousin telling stories of his band in the 80's and showing me the music of great bands past.
The raw energy, the in your face, over the top attitude, expressing themselves when the spotlight was on them.
As a kid we all share this kind of dream once or twice. Being a rockstar. You've thought about it. The people who are currently famous once thought about it before they made it to the top.
I thought about it to much.
Eventually everything I touched had something to do with music, everything resonated with the first moments of hearing those records and seeing old bands on stage. I knew what I had to do.

Fast forward to now. Current day job is repairing all works of musical instruments and studying all the time to harness my craft.
When I'm not working I mix and master recordings of my current project, and put my studies of music business to work to book shows get us radio airtime and plan future happening with the current tools at our disposal.

Write, rehearse, go to work, book, and repeat. The music I loved is there in everything I do but with all the new complications of the 21st century looming its ugly head around every corner. But I'll get into that another time.

It all becomes worth it for me though. Not when I hear the music but when I get on stage and play my own music. They same in your face, attitude driven, rock that I was introduced to years and years ago. Sending a chill up my spine as soon as I take the stage and hold my guitar.

18767129_10156358212183636_1877075169_o.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @callingkings! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64