[Original Acoustic Fingerstyle] "On Firecracker Hill" - The Story Behind the Song

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Last summer I packed up my tent and guitar, and drove 13 hours

to the beautiful mountains of Colorado for the Telluride Bluegrass Festival. I was blown away by the community, the music, and the scenery there. After taking some shrooms and wandering up the mountain with a friend one day, I was inspired to write this song. Press play and scroll down for the whole story :)


Telluride, CO, is a former silver mining town tucked away in the Rocky Mountains. Every summer, bluegrass musicians and fans make a pilgrimage there to celebrate a raucous weekend full of music, dancing, and good times.

IMG_3528.JPG

One morning in the campground, a kindly fellow wandered by my tent selling psychedelic mushroom chocolates. I'm not one to shy away from such opportunities, especially in such beautiful, music-filled environments. Little did I know what would transpire in the hours to follow . . .

IMG_3525.JPG

My friend and I had noticed people watching the festival stage from higher up the mountain throughout the weekend, so we decided to explore for ourselves. We brought a hammock and a few beers with us and began a hike through the campground and up the mountain. Some time later, we discovered the clearing that overlooked the festival, and decided to set up the hammock and eat our chocolates.

IMG_4818.PNG

Thirty minutes later, a rag-tag group of guys wandered up from the other direction. We greeted them and offered to share our beers. Turns out they had all hitch-hiked or caught trains to the area, as they did every year, to sneak up the mountain and hear the music for free. They offered us some LSD, but we declined - explaining we were already on our own "adventure."

We spent the next few hours on Firecracker Hill, trading jokes and stories, enjoying music, and enjoying life. It was an experience that I'll never forget - especially the part when one of their buddies straggled in later, high on LSD carrying a katana . . . you never know what you'll run across in the mountains.

IMG_3521.JPG

The next morning I brought my guitar over to the waterfall near our campsite and started to play, as was my Telluride morning tradition. I thought about how my experience on Firecracker Hill was special. I made a connection with a group of guys I might have otherwise been hesitant to interact with. "On Firecracker Hill" is a song about hope, about sharing our lives with others, and opening our eyes to the beauty in every moment, person, and mountain on this Earth.

IMG_3523.JPG

I hope you enjoyed listening and reading the story behind "On Firecracker Hill." Please upvote and reSteem this post if you appreciate my content, and be sure to follow me for more music and stories :)

You can download this song for free on my SoundCloud

Tips and donations are appreciated - @Californicajun

For more good vibes, check out my reggae track, "McCarren Sunshine" https://steemit.com/music/@californicajun/mccarren-sunshine-an-original-reggae-instrumental

Sort:  

Nice post man! Beautiful experiences are always worth writing about and remembering.

Great post. Good Music. Keep up the good work.Cheers!!!

Good heartfelt music speaks in its own terms for itself.
Jam on!
But truly, God gave us psychedelic experience to grow in realization- I encourage you to draw more than pleasure from it!
I get higher than the deepest LSD trip I ever took chanting:
HARE KRSNA
HARE KRSNA
KRSNA KRSNA
HARE HARE
HARE RAMA
HARE RAMA
RAMA RAMA
HARE HARE

Indeed. I try to always draw inspiration from my experiences with psychedelics, usually in the form of music from sources beyond myself :)

You're a great writer. And probably a kick ass person to spend an afternoon with. I love this song too. Fits so well with the story. Keep on keepin' on dude. Stay safe out there

That means a lot! I am actually a writer and editor in my day job, and after my bills are paid I spend my time playing music and enjoying the world around me :)

I have plenty more stories, photos, and songs to share, hope you enjoy them as well!

Can't wait! If you're ever in TX shoot me a message!

Awesome and im still loving this music! Now understanding how it came to be makes me more excited about the journey it had been through. I could really feel your music and its an awesome feeling

Wow thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed hearing about it; my music is definitely a direct translation of my experiences and emotions.

It is indeed. Very original and from the heart. Very inspirational.

Excellent post with beautiful pics!

Glad you enjoyed! More to come :)

What a nice sight ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53