My Instruments - Sitar

in #music7 years ago

Hello Steemians! I'm going to create a few album posts of my instrument collection. First up is my Sitar :)

00R0R_5PHwNn3GtXB_1200x900.jpg

I first played Sitar in Rishikesh, India. My cousin and I found a teacher, and for 600 rupees (*roughly $10 USD) he gave us an hour long group lesson. We learned some basic concepts, like the Da and Ra strokes, and we played different strum patterns while running a scale. The instrument really spoke to me that day; it had many voices of its own. We could only "suggest" what notes to play; the Sitars had their own musical conversation.

01414_lQMEbpE7iMy_1200x900.jpg

When I returned to the US, I had to make Sitar part of my life. I found this lovely instrument on Craigslist in Los Angeles last year! It needed a bit of work to get in playing shape, so I reached out the LA Academy of Indian Music via Facebook. The man who responded offering help would later become my teacher.

00e0e_h6cpa5HjsDc_1200x900.jpg

I have now been studying Sitar for 4 months now under the incredible Rajib Karmakar. It has been a humbling experience - being an absolute novice again - but I have learned much about the instrument, Indian music, and my teacher as well.

I will leave you with a video of my teacher performing with violin and tablas, and I encourage you to listen to Sitar every day!

As always, please follow, upvote and resteem if you enjoy my content! I'm always happen to converse in the comment section as well :)

One of my recent musical experiments: https://steemit.com/music/@californicajun/287-north-8th-an-experimental-acoustic-original-song
Sort:  

Ravi Shankar and John McLaughlin together is so exciting to see!
Cool instrument, thanks for the pictures.

The sitar is such a beautiful, expressive instrument.

this is a friend of mines father..thought you might in JOY.. :)

Congratulations @californicajun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That looks interesting. I take it the frets are movable, like a mandolin?

I've never played a mandolin that had moveable frets (mine certainly doesn't), but yes - these are easily moveable!

Ha, It's been a long day! I meant to say a lute. They have movable frets for different tunings.

I'm attempting to teach myself classical guitar, at the moment. I wanted to learn tamboritzan, but they're hard to find in the US, and more of an ensemble instrument. :-)

Good luck with the sitar!

another very interesting instrument is the Oud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53