I'M BACK - Unknown Mortal Orchestra COVER!

in #music7 years ago

Do you like psychedelic music? I do :) Unknown Mortal Orchestra is one of my favorite bands, so I produced a cover of "Faded in the Morning" off their 2nd album. Take a listen!

If you're curious about the production, read on!

For this song, I played my Gibson Les Paul '75 Deluxe through a Mesa Boogie 5:50 express, and mic'd the amp with a Shure SM-57. For my effects, I relied heavily on my MOOG MF Analog Delay, Boss Compression Sustainer, and Dunlop Crybaby Wah pedals.

I don't play drums, so they're absent from this track. Instead, I slowed down the tempo and focused on what I call "psych lifts" - really haunting, delay/reverb heavy licks that kind of float up out of the background and lend a psychedelic atmosphere to the song.

The vocals were the toughest part of this production. I wanted to go "weird" with it, so I recorded a full track of "normal" vox and a full track of falsetto vox, then doubled the falsetto track and added some weird effects in Ableton. After that, it was a matter of mixing and setting levels the way I wanted 'em.

If you follow me, you may know I had a major knee surgery back in August. I haven't been active since then, as I've been recovering and fighting through post-op depression. BUT! I am feeling better, and wanted to share something. I plan to have some new music soon, so follow to stay in the loop!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64281.02
ETH 3503.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54