Sejahtera Malaysia

in #music6 years ago (edited)

This year's National Day is going to be a special one for us Malaysians. It was not too long ago that we had our election and it was definitely one for the history books. Pakatan Harapan secured a stunning victory over Barisan Nasional, a political coalition that has ruled this country since its inception in 1957. This is the first time we're celebrating our country's independence with a different government at the helm.

To be honest, I grew up not knowing too much about politics. It is only when I studied in Kuala Lumpur then I became more aware of what's happening in the government and how it affects the society. I remember flying back to Kota Kinabalu to vote and be disappointed at the outcome. I remember Bersih 2.0 and the tear gas. I remember walking to the Kelana Jaya stadium after LDP literally became a parking lot. I remember flying back to Kuala Lumpur on the 9th of May while the results were being announced and anxiously checking my phone when I landed back in KLIA. One day, we will ask one another, "Where were you when we made history together?". There will be the day when I tell my children and grandchildren of 2018, not just from my memory, but through blockchain technologies where I can store information that 'lasts forever'.

I've decided to do some slight rearrangements to a few of my favorite patriotic songs to commemorate the nation's 61st birthday. I'll be starting with one of the most memorable songs I grew up listening to - 'Sejahtera Malaysia'. It's usually broadcasted on the national tv channels when the clock strikes midnight. I grew up without cable so my choices were limited to TV1, TV2 and TV3 that's provided by RTM (Radio Televisyen Malaysia). This song definitely brings back fond memories of my childhood.

Puji dan syukur pada Ilahi
Anugerahnya tiada terhingga
Kedamaian kemakmuran
Malaysiaku bahagia

Dengan tekad untuk berjaya
Berbakti pada nusa dan bangsa
Kami junjung cita-cita luhur
Perpaduan seluruh negeri

Seia sekata sehati sejiwa
Menghadapi cabaran
Kami sedia kami setia
Berkorban untuk negara

Bersemarak Malaysia tercinta
Kibarkan panji kebesarannya
Kami rela menjaga namamu
Sejahtera Malaysia

It's pretty late in the night when I recorded this, with my mom sleeping in the next room and my children sleeping in the other one. It explains why it's soft on the bass as I have my practice pedal down. I'll be explaining more about my arrangement and possibly provide a simple chord chart so you can give it a try as well. Feel free to comment about this rendition as well as share what this song means to you.


If you enjoyed this song, do check out my other rearrangements
in this mini-series of Lagu Patriotik.

Setia

20180212_193505.png

Sort:  

It’s like a miracle that the change of government has happened place...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49