The Long Road

in #music8 years ago (edited)


Song ideas are transient thought that if left uncaptured, they may escape us forever.

I was lucky enough to capture this song when it came to mind when I was in the subtle state of consciousness between being asleep and awake. I was in a hotel room in San Diego, and at the time I had a small Dictaphone on my night stand. I was conscious enough to mumble the first few lines of lyric into it and then forgot about it for a few days.

When I finally got around to listening to the clip that I recorded, the rest of the lyrics came tumbling out in almost a free flow of thought. It was about my life experience and it had no fence to corral it into my subconscious mind. The trip that I had made out west at the time that I wrote the song had somehow been a reconciliation of past relationship gone south.

The original title to the song was "All Along" but in the final days of working on the album that was to include this track, my producer suggested that it needed a different title. Further, we were looking for a title to the album (it's working title was "Booger Cow" and that didn't seem to really fit the material).

Several ideas were floated out there as a title to this song, and Mark (my producer) suggested "The Trip" as the title for the song. I came back with "The Long Road" as the record itself was a long time coming and the path that I followed to get to it's publication was a bit unconventional.

And thus, The Long Road became the title cut to the album.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cactusclef! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57