You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Melonious Thonk #18: 1930s Hip Hop!? The Earliest Rap Song?

in #music6 years ago

I of course remember Rapper's Delight by Sugarhill Gang very well, I might have only been 4 years old when it was released but it still featured strongly in my teens alongside an eclectic mix including Beastie Boys, Run D.M.C, Cypress Hill, De La Soul and a Tribe Called Quest. I still have original cassette albums somewhere for many of them!

The deeper you go back from them is beyond my knowledge, but it's fascinating learning just how far the genre goes. Thank you for stirring up fond memories though, and educating me that little bit more.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59169.46
ETH 2597.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42