Heads Up: Ariana Grande's "Sweetener" and Mitski's "Be The Cowboy"

in #music6 years ago

 Ariana Grande's "Sweetener" and Mitski's "Be The Cowboy" both came out on August 17th and they are very different but both worth checking out and here I have short reviews for you so you might know what you're getting yourself into.  

 "Sweetener" is Ariana's most experimental album yet and while it's not everyone's cup of tea, it's nice to see her dive into interesting, new and more provoking genres than we're used to, so it's worth if not only to listen to have a fun ride, but maybe pick some songs for your summer playlist or some favorites in general along the way. I'm personally thinking that it was a risk worth taking, because it provides some of her most interesting material yet and makes us excited for what's coming next. 

Favorite lyrics: "Some days, things just take way too much of my energy/I look up and the whole room's spinning" (It might seem quite simple but I enjoy the simple but strong description of anxiety) 

 Mitski's "Be The Cowboy" is such a surprise for me. I was scared to be underwhelmed after the amazing first few singles and wow did it surpass my expectations, the pure, raw emotion that this album exudes is just groundbreaking, I probably haven't heard loneliness, nostalgia, love, searching embodied more perfectly than Mitski manages to in this amazing project. It has me bawling, delving into my fears, dreams, hopes, passion and life in general. It's such a provoking album that I think everyone needs to experience it.

Favorite lyrics: "Baby, though I've closed my eyes/I know who you pretend I am" (The feeling of not being actually loved for you described so accurately);

"Just how many stars will I need to hang around me/To finally call it heaven?" (This is self explanatory and beautifully heartbreaking)    

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53