You Spin Me Round

in #music6 years ago

I'm a very casual collector of records. Don't even bother talking to me about grading them.

IMG_4136.JPG

I have records that belonged to my parents. My mom wrote her name all over her copy of The White Album, diminishing any monetary value, but instilling in me a love for The Beatles. My eclectic taste is definitely from my dad, who loved a little of everything, from Hendrix to The Beach Boys. I have records that have been collected from estate sales, flea markets and dusty little record shops. I even pick up contemporary albums from time to time, because everything just sounds better on vinyl.

IMG_E4134.JPG
I collect the good...

IMG_E4133.JPG
But also the bad...

IMG_E4135.JPG
And of course, the very, very ugly.

Right now my records are sitting on the floor, due to a busted leg on the stand I keep them on. That means time to reorganize. How do you categorize your collection? Alphabetically? By genre? What was the first album you purchased?

c5e1cba275c1d54bf6a631d5dbab35e7.jpg

Sort:  

Yo that Blondie record is fire!!!

I'm shocked it is still in the collection after we ran into Debbie Harry at an antique store- not the nicest person we've met

That time I ran into Debbie Harry in a tiny town in Pennsylvania is definitely a story for another day!

B-52's....Awe hell yes!!

That clown is pure terror, but I love that you have Elvis Costello and the B-52's

I found that clown locally. But I'm sure that's not surprising, haha!

The best is the 'Valley of the Dolls' lp - Firstly our Chinchilla chewed the perimeter of the cover (the one I bought on eBay), then you luckily found another at an estate sale. Then we play it and they didn't even have the rights to put the actual Dionne Warwick theme version on the album.

The B-52‘s is a great record. Congrats! Keep on collecting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51