Guest post by @ailindigo: Song of the day #7

in #music5 years ago (edited)

So this week was kind of intense, it was so intense that I even had an emotional breakdown, and it was one of those that are full of your conflicts with the world, those one that doesn't matter how much you explain them to someone, it's likely not to be understood, not completely. This song is about that, about those problems and conflicts that are not easy to explain or understand.


Source

Simple as This


This song is fifth track from the debut studio album Jake Bugg by the english singer-songwriter Jake Bugg that was released on October 15th 2012 in the UK and April 9th 2013 in the US. You may know this song because it featured in the movie "The Fault In Ours Stars", this is a deep and melancholy song with a nice folk sound that is about that eternal search for answers, seek of the truth and overcoming life barriers.

Lyrics

"I've been in search of stones
Making up the pavement of less-travelled roads
Mining for treasure deep in my bones
That I never find

Went looking for reverence
Tried to find it in a bottle and came back again
High on a hash pipe of good intent
But it only brought me down

Tried institutions of the mind and soul
It only taught me what I should not know
Oh and the answer well who would have guessed
Could be something as simple as this
Something as simple as this

Travelled to each ocean's end
Saw all seven wonders, trying to make some sense
Memorized the mantra Confucius said
But it only let me down

Tried absolution of the mind and soul
It only led me where I should not go
Oh and the answer well how could I miss
Something as simple as this
Something as simple as this

I've been falling, crashing, breaking
All the while you were stood here waiting
For me, girl

Tried liberation of my own free will
But it left me looking to get higher still
Oh and the answer, well, who would have guessed?
Could be something as simple as this
God knows how I could have missed
Something as simple as this"


This song is about seeking truth and realizing maybe the answer is something pretty simple, suggesting that maybe we just overthink about this topic and we shouldn't. At the beggining he's been looking for meaning all around the world, searching for truth not only on outside but on the inside, he not only chooses to find look in the world but inside himself. Then he says he tried to find the ultimate truth in turning into drugs and alcohol, and this didn't work as he expected, on the contrary this lowered his mood. n the chorus he mentions two kind of intitutions, one refering to psychological ones maybe and even educational ones, the ones related to intellect (mind), and the one refering to religious institutions like church or some others (soul), and he enhances that they taught him what he shouldn't do instead of what to do in order to find this ultimate truth. Then we have a comparisson between two kinds of knowledge, the knowledge from experiences and the theoretical one, he mentions Confucius, a philosopher who focused on the practical and not on believes in gods; though none of these knowledges helped him. The "absolution" part says that he tried to turn to religion in order to give his life a purpose or meaning, but he realized he was overthinking and that wasn't good for him. On the bridge he says how big this search for meaning was and how much trouble it caused to him, while without knowing he had everything he needed, the love of and for his girlfriend, suggesting this is the answer of everything, the real truth he was looking for was some as simple as love. I relate myself to this song a lot for its deep meaning and message, I had a terrible emotional breakdown this week and was crying about all these things about life and then when I felt better I remembered how important love is and how much meaning can it give to life, in the same way this song talks about it.


I totally recommend this album which was the debut album from this nice guy, its folk sound is pretty easy-going and likeable. A really good success and nice beginning.

https://open.spotify.com/album/6b2BArDCfSvW3VFenLJatj?si=Ih6ChCQJRIqNB6l7he1pZA


Thanks for reading and listening! Tell me what you think about this song! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25