Guest post by @ailindigo: Song of the day #4

in #music6 years ago

Today I had this feeling of being a total failure as an adult, recurrently. I've had this feeling many times in my life since I was a teenager, I identified with this famous song because I felt lost and didn't have a proper indetity of myself, now I identify with the song because I feel really broken and I miss the old times when I was a child and didn't worry about many things, when life was easier. A song you can relate to even if you're a teenager or an adult.


Source.

The Logical Song


The Logical Song was the lead single from the sixth studio album Breakfast in Amerca by the english rock band Supertramp and was released in March 1979. This is one of the most famous songs by this band and the most relatable by anyone because of how meaningful it is. A very personal song about that moments in which you start wondering what is really important in life, a criticism our society's systemm, and also about being kid at heart. Plus with an amazing and epic sound.

Lyrics

"When I was young, it seemed that life was so wonderful
A miracle, oh, it was beautiful, magical
And all the birds in the trees, well, they'd be singing so happily
Oh, joyfully, oh, playfully watching me
But then they sent me away to teach me how to be sensible
Logical, oh, responsible, practical
And then they showed me a world where I could be so dependable
Oh, clinical, oh, intellectual, cynical

There are times when all the world's asleep
The questions run too deep
For such a simple man
Won't you please, please tell me what we've learned?
I know it sounds absurd
But please, tell me who I am

I said, now watch what you say or they'll be calling you a radical
A liberal, oh, fanatical, criminal
Won't you sign up your name, we'd like to feel you're acceptable
Respectable, oh, presentable, a vegetable
Oh, take, take, take it, yeah

(Instrumental bridge)

But at night, when all the world's asleep
The questions run so deep
For such a simple man
Won't you please, please tell me what we've learned?
I know it sounds absurd
But please, tell me who I am
Who I am
Who I am
Who I am
Who I am

'Cause I was feeling so logical
D-d-d-d-d-d-digital
Yeah, one, two, three, five
Oh, oh, oh, oh
Ooh, it's getting unbelievable
Yeah
B-b-bloody marvelous."


This is one of the best songs I've ever heard and found it when I was teenager, that period of time in which you're still finding your way to the discovery of yourself, finding your identity; at that time I could realte to this song in many ways because of its criticism towards society and how it impulses you to do things in order to be acceptable as a human, this criticism questions that manner and always reminds me of those many times I just wondered how was it possible that after being told what to do during elementary school and high school they expected us to know which career to choose in college. What I like the most about the song is that the speaker seems to be someone that is "kid at heart" but still very mature, at the beginning of the song he tells us how great was life when he was younger as refering to his early years of childhood, that time when we just enjoyed life the most and were happiers without the obligations or resposabilities of adult life, especially in the part that mentions the birds as if referring when we were being watched and didn't mind it. Then he says he was sent away to learn things, referring to school, and mentios four traits that a person is supposed to have in order to be a correct person but are kind of restrictive or "square" and so "dispensable" since we are seen as a little part of the gear that is our "cynical" society. Then in the chorus he talks about those moments in which society is stopped, like in the middle of the night, but you're awake thinking about life and also what's good or wrong and how much it overwhelms you. He questions what "we've learned" like saying it's nothing and that's why we have this lack of indentity when we have to start making decision in life as we grow and become adults. In the secod verse he metions four words by which society may call you if it doesn't agree with your thoughts or ideal, you won't be part of its gear if you don't obey and behave "logical". Then three more traits that can be summarized in the fourth one "vegetable" that means being passive and eventually dispensable. This is a song with a strong message that is still valid and talks us about not acceptiong everything because it's common, the song enhances we should think for ourselves in order to figure out what we are and where we stand, but also enhances that innocence we had when were younger, before being taught.


This album is the biggets commercial success of the band and is considered by many one of the greatest discs from all times. Something that everyone should listen to.

https://open.spotify.com/album/7hWz7WvLTLk9ombnaUbBpe?si=--mR82LdRhuCI-GGJNnWxg


Thanks for reading and listening! Tell what you think about this song! :)

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 132 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you very much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79