Bucky Plays "I'se the B'ye" Irish/Newfoundland Fiddle

in #music7 years ago

This is one of my favourite old Newfoundland fiddle tunes - "I'se the B'ye."

I'se the bye small.jpg

There are many variations of the the lyrics of this traditional song. Here are some that you can use to sing along with my fiddle :)

I's the b'ye that builds the boat
And I's the b'ye that sails her
I's the b'ye that catches the fish
And brings 'em home to Lizer

Hip yer partner, Sally Tibbo
Hip yer partner, Sally Brown
Fogo, Twillingate, Moreton's Harbour
All around the circle!

Sods and rinds to cover your flake
Cake and tea for supper
Codfish in the spring o' the year
Fried in maggoty butter.

Hip yer partner, Sally Tibbo
Hip yer partner, Sally Brown
Fogo, Twillingate, Moreton's Harbour
All around the circle!

This refers to some of our beautiful communities around Newfoundland.
fogo.jpeg
Fogo Island

ice.jpeg
Twillingate

If you enjoy this post please RESTEEM -UPVOTE - COMMENT - FOLLOW @buckydurddle

Cheers,
BuckyDurddle

LEGEND_20171112_050553.gif

Fogo Island Photo
Twillingate Photo

Sort:  

Love the old songs. They are all toe tapping. Just makes me want to get up and dance. Thanks, Bucky!

Get up and dance! Thats what its all about :)

I really enjoyed your old Irish song! You have a very good voice too! 👍

Lol thanks @aci7 i love these old tunes. Thanks for listening.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I loved this one!! :) Its reminds me of Ireland songs I heard in a movie :)
great job!! really perfect!
peace brother!

This post has received a 9.24 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @buckydurddle.

This post has received a 5.56 % upvote, thanks to: @buckydurddle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78