Pantera

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Bands like this appear once in 100 years ... I remember when first time I heard Pantera, like it was yesterday. I hang out with some skaters and they were rocking music loud, then some guy come and put on Pantera. It was Cowboys from hell. Oh my god I never heard something like that before. Guitar sounded like it coming straight from hell so powerful, I mean all production, kickin' drums, Anselmo's screams and solo over those 7th chords, just crazy! After that I started to listen those grooves often. Today I remember it and decide to share some album list with you! :P

5. Far Beyond Driven
Last on this list, obviously without pre-groove records. Great album, but I think band focused more on heaviness of the songs than on the grooves.

Favorite tracks: 5 Minutes Alone, I'm Broken, Planet Caravan

4. The Great Southern Trendkill
This album I love because of the sound sludge that is present. Anselmo recorded vocals separately from the rest of the band at Trent Reznor's (NIN) studio. The longest song on the album „Floods“ features one of Dimebag Darrell's most popular solos. Guitar World magazine voted Dimebag Darrell's guitar solo in "Floods" as the 15th greatest of all-time.

Favorite tracks: Living Through Me (Hells' Wrath), Floods, (Reprise) Sandblasted Skin

3. Reinventing the Steel
Final studio record of the band. Once again Pantera showed that they stay true to their sound! End of "Goddamn Electric" has a solo by Kerry King (Slayer). The band members dedicated Reinventing the Steel to their fans, whom they viewed as their brothers and sisters.

Favorite tracks: Revolution Is My Name, Uplift, I'll Cast a Shadow

2. Vulgar Display of Power
Groove driven album with raw hardcore energy. I my opinion this album has best production, Terry Date very much contributed to the sound of band. This album will make you kick someone’s ass!

Favorite tracks: Mouth for War, Live in a Hole, By Demons Be Driven

1. Cowboys from Hell
Hard decision because "Vulgar" is very good, but "Cowboys" is closer to my heart. Even though it sounded yet little „Heavy metal“ this album was still a turning point and the first in the Groove subgenre. Such rawness of nineties will never happen again!

Favorite tracks: Cowboys from Hell, The Sleep, The Art of Shredding

If you want more stuff like this, put in the comments. Keep on rockin'!

Sort:  

Keep it coming, this brings back a lot of memories. Time for a machinehead-burn my eyes tribute hour here ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41