SUGGESTED SONGS OF THE WEEK: 3

in #music6 years ago

Once more--here are the suggested songs of the week. You might be asking yourself, "Brandi, how is it possible that you are on week 3 if you committed to writing this series like eleven weeks ago?!" That is a valid question. But what else can I say other than that college is giving me a swift kick in the ass? But here ya go anyways, enjoy! Leave feedback, comments, suggestions, etc. If any of you want me to add a genre to this list, I will!
Here are this week's picks:


ALTERNATIVE ROCK: Spotlight- Mutemath

  • Mutemath is such a unique band, and they put on one of the neatest concerts I have ever been to. I wrote an article a few months ago about the experience--check out out if you want. Additional fun fact about this song was that it was part of the musical score for Twilight. Pretty cool stuff, eh?


INDIE: There Will Be Time- Mumford & Sons, feat. Baaba Maal

  • One of the most peaceful songs I have ever heard. It is spiritual, beautiful and everything you could ever wish for from Mumford & Sons. If you like the intro to this song, that's Baaba Maal, and he made an entire album with the band. You might be asking if the rest of the album is as good as this song. My answer is: almost.


ELECTRO-ROCK: Walk Alone- PVRIS

  • PVRIS, without a doubt, makes it into my top 3 favorite bands of all time. What's funny is that the first time I ever heard of them was when I saw them in concert in 2014...BY ACCIDENT. I don't know how one accidentally sees a concert by accident, but I somehow managed to do that. As Bob Ross would say, it was a happy accident. I saw them in concert again last month at the House of Blues, and it freaking rocked. The voice of Lynn Gunn continues to amaze me, and she is a huge inspiration for me in music. You should definitely check out more of PVRIS.


MODERN ROCK: 1983- Neon Trees

  • Here's what I don't understand. Neon Trees had two really popular songs that aired on the radio 7 or 8 years ago ("Animals" and "Sleeping with a Friend"). After that, I have not heard them on the radio since, and they fell off the face of mainstream music. As it turns out, they have some other incredible songs too, such as this one. I really hope that Neon Trees becomes relevant again.


PROGRESSIVE METAL: Pittsburgh- The Amity Affliction

  • WARNING: If you haven't found out by now, this song is kinda scary. However, I like it anyways. Just let me be nostalgic of my emo days, please! I saw them live at Vans Warped Tour when I was 13 and saw my life flash before my eyes in the mosh pit. I hope this song fulfills your inner angst. (But the lyrics are actually really meaningful if you listen to them).


PUNK ROCK: Lighterless- Microwave

  • I came across this song last month and I really dig it. Therefore, I am sharing it with all of you. So here ya go!

I hope that you all enjoy this list of songs, and that you find one you like! Leave a comment or suggestion down below if you're feelin it.

Peace,
Brandi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50