SUGGESTED SONGS OF THE WEEK- 2

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Okay, so I know I said I would be making a list of suggested songs from various genres every week, but college has been kicking my butt lately, so I haven't been able to get to it. Good news though--I'm making one right now! Yay (and sorry)! So again, the genres I'll be covering this week are Alternative Rock, Indie Rock, EDM/Electronic, Hard Rock, Modern Rock, and Punk Rock. If there are any other genres you guys want me to cover weekly, let me know down in the comments!

So here are my suggestions for the week. If you happen to know any of them, or happen to give them a listen for the first time, share your opinion! I'd be curious to know. Peace!


ALTERNATIVE ROCK: In My Home- Young the Giants

  • Personally, one of my favorite songs of all time. Young the Giants is a severely underrated rock band, if you ask me. Out of all the bands and songs I suggest on this post, make sure that this is the first one you take a look at. You'll thank me later.


INDIE: A Month From Now- The Rail Yard Ghosts

  • Now come on, admit that this is neat as hell! This clip was featured in the documentary called Lowdown Tracks that celebrates the culture of street music while also bringing light upon the homeless crisis. Definitely watch it if you're into that sort of stuff (documentaries, social justice, music, etc).


EDM/ELECTRO-ROCK: Little Baby Pines- Sunbears!

  • Another intriguing song for an imaginative mind, and a pretty sweet music video! One of my friends told me that Sunbears was named by TIME Magazine to be the first modern hipster band. I don't know the validity of this, and I'm too lazy to look it up. Nonetheless, a great group!


HARD ROCK: True Friends- Bring Me The Horizon

  • Talk about my days as an edgy, emo freshman in high school! I can imagine myself now, listening to this on the bus rides to school, angstily thinking, "I hate people, they disappoint me." I outgrew most of the music I listened to at that time, but this one still remains a solid tune for me.


MODERN ROCK: Blame- Bastille

  • Bastille rocks. That's all I'm going to say.


PUNK ROCK: F.C.P.R.E.M.I.X- The Fall of Troy

  • Yes! Another staple song to my angsty teenage years. Does anyone else remember this song from Guitar Hero 3? I dare anyone to challenge me to this song on Expert , haha!

I hope you all enjoy this week's suggestions! Leave feedback and further recommendations down in the comment section. And of course, feel free to upvote if you felt this was a decent article.
Peace,
Brandi

Sort:  

Railyard Ghost are pretty amazing. If they are your first intro to folk punk check out Days and Daze as well as Johnny Hobo/Wingnut Dishwashers Union/Ramshackle Glory/Pat the Bunny also.

Thanks for the suggestion! I will definitely check those out and perhaps write about some of them for my next article! And also, a totally agree that Rail Yard Ghosts are awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52