EINE: I'm Not There: I Covered a Punk Band From My Childhood

in #music7 years ago

I remember listening to these guys back in 2002. It was summer, it was really hot, but my cousin and me were listening to their demo-tape in our parents' car. I loved that tape, but never paid that much attention to them after that. They were around, but only a couple of months back, when we shared the stage together, I started to feel the same excitement about them. The band is called 'Debeli Precjednik', which is a misspelled 'Fat President', e.g. 'Fat Prezident'. That's the real anglophonic variant of their name, haha. They are legendary in our parts, been playing for twenty five years almost. And now they got this new song that's so beautiful. There's nothing more beautiful than a straight-up punk no-bullshit pain. I just tell it how it is and that's it. This particular song is called 'I'm not there'. He only thinks he is, but he is not. Does he exist still? Shit.  


The best thing is that the song hasn't been recorded yet, it's so new they sent me the lyrics because there's none on the web, so I'm covering a song that's not yet been published. Like Joe Cocker with 'A little help from my friends' by the Beatles (although that one sucks, if you ask me). This is the live recording.

And this one is mine.

Long live punks!



3KGyvwaxusba2wmCqWnVFQxHbBtLPsQ1zy




Sort:  

Es agradable esto de seguir personas y que te motiven a ser mejor cada día, que bonita historia! Feliz día... "sorry, I can't speak english perfectly"

I can't give a listen to either of the videos right now, but I shall tomorrow.
However, I have to say, I find it awesome you got to share the stage with a band you love!

Long live punks!

Yeah, it's great that eventually you meet everyone you wanted to meet. History rhymes :)

Alright, I gave both vids a listen and what can I say, it's punk rock!
Pretty wild and great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56652.41
ETH 2407.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33