[Chillwave] Teen Daze - Cycle | BNT's Track Review #2

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Track Review.png

Have you ever felt like you're living the same day pretty much every day? It's kind of hard to get out of that kind of rut. This beautiful song explores those kinds of situations perfectly, nostalgically and almost lovingly. Hope you enjoy the song as well as my analysis of it. I like all kinds of music, so if you have a track that you'd like me to review, by all means mention it in the comments and I'll get it done. Enjoy!

All feedback is welcome, appreciated and WILL be replied to!



Teen Daze has been a notorious contributor to the chillwave/dreampop scene since he came onto the scene in the early 2010s. I still remember listening to his delightful song Spin Around, Go Ahead back in 2011 and it becoming a big part of my daily musical routine.

It has been six years since those nostalgic days, but Teen Daze's sounds remains as fresh as the day it was created. Now, perhaps with a more centered sound based around realities and with lyrics that evoke deep emotions, Cycle really threw me for a loop when I first heard it. Then the second time and then the hundredth.

The entire song fits in one paragraph, so here it is:

When it feels, like the sun is unbroken, yet I wake with a sense of mourning. I leave to enter the day, cause the cycle always holds me down. The day seems a waste without movement, but it always feels like I’m losing. One by one, they enter my mind: the cycle always holds me down. You are the only one that speaks into me and breaks the cycle.

My first impression after listening to Cycle was that Teen Daze was now a more realistic, refined and honestly, more enjoyable artist. This song reads like a beautiful poem written on a rainy day and the raindrops in the background of the melody only further enhance that feeling.

The day seems a waste without movement, but it always feels like I’m losing. One by one, they enter my mind: the cycle always holds me down.

There's a saying that I think fits really well here: motion creates emotion. When people become immobile for whatever reason, their mood seems to not only halt but actually go dark. Idleness makes fools out of all of us and it appears as if it has convinced the writer of the song that it's going to be permanent. Indeed, a Cycle.

You are the only one that speaks into me and breaks the cycle.

The song ends with a plea repeated over and over again. Teen Daze is asking someone special in his life to come around more often. His rut gets interrupted, his spell broken when this other person comes around, but he appears to be too shy to ask directly for their presence. Thus allowing the cycle to repeat and perpetuate itself. It's beautiful and tragic, all at the same time.

So there you have it, my analysis of this beautiful song is complete. I hope you enjoyed it and please let me know what your thoughts are if you enjoyed the song or my analysis or even if you hated it. I'm always glad to read other perspectives and I'm sure you'll have something interesting to say!

Please Follow BNT.png

Thank you SO MUCH for reading this all the way through. I'd be thrilled if you could help me out by resteeming my post, following me and/or if you could spare 2 minutes to share what your thoughts on my piece are... I'll love you forever!

Sort:  

This is so Beautiful. What a perfectly divine description of what it's like having depression. WOW I literally just wrote a blog about being in the middle of the ocean and deciding to sink or swim. This spoke to exactly that feeling of the endless hopelessness that comes with depression, but the truth of those who love and are hoping to help break the cycle of those endless sad days!! Beautiful my friend!!!

I'm glad this spoke to deeply to you, truly. Thanks!

Well done! Do you plan on reviewing other genres? I just joined and plan on doing weekly full album reviews. Your thoughts?

Absolutely! Tomorrow a Rock review is coming your way. And yes, go for it!

Sweet! Working on one right now. Keep an eye out.

Great post! I hope you you gonna post more posts like this!:))

Oh yeah, there's a lot of these coming up. Thanks for your comment!

That's very cool! Upvote! Now I follow you! I can not wait to see it! ))

If there's anything I like more than an upvote is a follow. Once again, it's greatly appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58