The Mystery Pop Star Appearing on the New Foo Fighters Record is Justin Timberlake + New Song

in #music7 years ago

The speculation on who is going to be the pop star guest on the new Foo Fighters record is over. It is Justin Timberlake.  

Dave Grohl revealed the news to Rolling Stone Magazine, saying that Timberlake just came to the studio as the band was recording: »We'd drink whiskey in the parking lot. He was really, really cool. Then the night before his last day he says, 'Can I sing on your record? I don't want to push it, but - I just want to be able to tell my friends.«   

Apparently, the pop star is contributing to the record by singing backup vocals for a song. Dave Grohl stated: "He nailed it. I'm telling you - the guy's going somewhere."  

The second special guest on the record is Paul McCartney, whom played drums on one of the songs. The Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkings was impressed with McCartney's drumming stating: "You don't generally think of him as a drummer. But he laid that track so fucking effortlessly. He never even heard the song - Dave kind of explained it to him with an acoustic guitar. And he was like, 'Yeah, yeah. I think I know what you're doing."

While Dave stated: "He was so fucking good, We played for an hour, then took a break and had bagels and tea.I thought we were done - I didn't want to rag him out - so I was out having a cig, and someone goes, 'Hey, Paul wants to jam some more.' He rounded everybody up, and we jammed for hours: 'Let's write some songs, man!"

The upcoming ninth Foo Fighters record »Concrete & Gold« is set to release September 15.  


Sort:  

You should also tag this in the boombox tag. Great post, even shared to FB.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67971.67
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67