Vibing With Tosha MaccTen #canadianyardie

in #music7 years ago (edited)

20170603_205638_HDR.jpgCanadianYardie was vibing with Tosha MaccTen and fired 12 questions at her and she didn't disappoint. We first saw her at the Diamond Sound Radio Show we instantly liked her vibe and her musical style, kinda a mixture of Lil Kim with the punching lyrics of Foxy Brown.

CanadianYardie (CY): What's your background and where did you grow up?

Tosha MaccTen: Jamaican. I lived almost everywhere in the GTA, can't really say I " grew up " anywhere.

CY: How did you get the name Toshaamacc10?

Tosha MaccTen: I was named by someone who shall remain nameless.

CY: How would you describe your musical style?

Tosha MaccTen: It's rap. Mixed with a bit of RnB and dancehall. I call it Macc Sauce Style, because I don't sound like anyone.

CY: Do you write you own material and is there anything off limits when you write?

Tosha MaccTen: My material is mine, I write all my own sh*t, and nothing is off limits when I write. NOTHING.

CY: What do you think of the hip hop scene in Toronto?

Tosha MaccTen: I'm really enjoying the way it's evolved in the past few years. More artists are linking up, you can tell who's really taking this seriously. I really just love the fact that when I leave the house I hear more Toronto artists playing from people's cars, than Americans lol. People are starting to appreciate the talent here. It's beautiful.

CY: Do you think it is easier or harder for a female to get a break in the industry?

Tosha MaccTen: It's easy if you have your own money. If you don't, good lucc. Next question.

CY: Do you ever consider moving south of the border where there seem to be more opportunity for hardcore rappers like yourself?

Tosha MaccTen: HELL NO. They kill blacc people for fun, the health care is trash, and the " American Dream " isn't my dream. If I'm relocating it's to the U.K. I would love my music to get popular over there.

CY: Musically, what are your biggest influences and who are your favorite musicians?

Tosha MaccTen: Vybz Kartel, and Foxy are my main influences.... Vybz Kartel is my favorite musician. His music speaks to me in away I can't explain. As far as other artists go for my personal listening choices. I got too many to name. I f*ucc with a bit of every genre.

CY: If you could choose any artist dead or alive, who would be your dream collaboration and why?

Tosha MaccTen: Vybz Kartel.

CY: What would be your dream venue in which to perform and why?

Tosha MaccTen: I'd love to perform at Rogers Centre, and where ever they keep the Grammys, lol. Why? Because For me to make it there means my music did some numbers lol.

CY: Being Jamaican I have to ask, which dancehall/reggae artist would you love to work with?

Tosha MaccTen: Vybz Kartel of course, Spragga Benz, Masicca, Shawn Storm, and Lady Saw if she wasn't a preacher lol

CY: What's coming up for Toshaamacc10, new music, mixtape etc?

Tosha MaccTen: More music will definitely be dropping soon for sure, I'm also working on launching a podcast called " MACC4PREZ " and I'm working on a blog also. Hoping to launch these by the end of August.

Check out her video on YouTube: Tosha Macc10 - Don't Get Shook and Tosha Macc10 - Seen It All ( Remix )

Follow her on Instagram: @toshaamacc10

Sort:  

Hi good post my friend i am @djnoel :))))

thanks if you have time check out my website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74