Steemit Piano Lessons - How To Play Piano By Ear!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I haven't posted on here for a long time. I've been busy recording piano courses (and looking after my 21 month old son... oh boy how I wish I had a few more hours in the day)!

I'd like to share some of the lessons with all you Steemits on here. Don't you think it's great when people can hear a song just once and then play by ear instantly?

I've developed a course to help you to train your musical ear so eventually you'll be able to do just this.

Let's get going with the lessons. It's for complete beginners, so it's starting right from scratch! The first lesson talks about "Pitch". You don't even need a piano for the first few lessons.

In this next lesson you start straight away developing your skills by figuring different pitches by ear. Give it a go and see if you can do it!

The listening tests commence. They're short and sweet, and you can move onto the next stage when you get at least 4 out of 5 correct.

Here's Test 3:

And finally:

Its important to be able to identify when a note is moving up or down in single steps, and the C Major scale is the perfect example of notes moving up or down one step at a time. This lesson takes you through the first steps of hearing melodies, starting off with the smallest of movements on the piano.

That was the final lesson for today. I hope you enjoyed them and feel like you've learnt something. Who knows, you could be sitting jamming on the piano in a bar in no time. You just have to keep on learning!

Thanks for reading and watching. I'll be posting again soon.

@birdistheword

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75