Sigur Ros Fantasy

in #music7 years ago (edited)

snapshot.jpg

The plot of the story goes something like this. Friend growing up in the Caribbean falls hopelessly in love with one of the weirdest bands on the planet. Said band also hails from one of the weirdest places on the planet Iceland. Years later she emigrates to the US and fulfills her fantasy of seeing her band live in concert. Can you imagine the ecstasy and happiness she feels? The rapture. The “I can die now” satisfaction.

Well this is not a story. She actually went to see Sigur Ros perform at Forest Hills Stadium in Queens NY last night. She told me couple days ago about copping tickets to see them. I couldn’t believe that her biggest fantasy was about to come true. She was really stoked for that concert. I could hear it in her voice when she called me. Made me smile, then we laughed together like twins who share this sweet awesome memory.

I remember giving her flack back in the day about Sigur Ros. Their music is pretty much out there. They sing in their own make up language. They actually created a new language for their lyrics. She always defended them no matter what I said. It was all in jest though. I loved that she loved a band that was mad different from the norm. The music I listened to was pretty much genre bending too. I never really like popular music. I always craved music that explored the madness and idiosyncrasies of life. It had to tear me apart and then some for me to even be mildly interested in taking a second listen. But Sigur Ros is in a class by themselves. Very unique and their fans are true believers.

She sent me videos of the concert via Telegram messaging app. I could see that the concert was lit. Pure ecstasy and joy from the crowd. My friend was screaming in a lot of the videos. Her fantasy definitely came true. She never gave up on that which is real admirable. Now she should really push it to another level. Go see them perform in Iceland. Now that would be the proverbial icing on the cake.

Sort:  

Sigur Ros !!!!!!!! They are just so goooooood!!! I went to Clcokenflap last year in Hong Kong, their perofrmance was awesome !! It could be better if it was not raining though.

Yes, I am listening the music

Sigur Ros is AWESOME. Wish I was in NY to see them live. There is something about them that is haunting beautiful and sticks with you. Heck, they were even mentioned on a new video game recently.

Yea definitely haunting :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74