Whiskey in the Jar

in #music6 years ago (edited)

About 3 years ago, we took a trip to Ireland and while we were in a hotel bar near Killarney there was a two person group playing. I had heard the song Whiskey in a Jar many years prior as done by Thin Lizzy so I asked if they would play it and sure enough, they had a go at it. I thought it might be fun to show a bit of video I took of that and compare to some more popular groups that have also played the tune and get peoples impressions of which they liked the best.

Here is my video (unfortunately I don't recall the groups name but I think my wife bought a cd), also it only includes part of the song, not an entire version.

Here are the Irish Rovers, a well know Irish band from the 1960s and 1970s. I like this video because it has the words, I had no idea what they were saying apparently!

Next up, the High Kings, another Irish band.

How about the Grateful Dead! I did not know they had covered this song.

How about another Irish band, the Dubliners!

Lets change course here, and how about Metallica's version!

and last but not least, my favorite version, based on my early exposure to it. Thin Lizzy!!

Let me know what you think, any Irish music lovers? Which version do you like best?
Note that all videos except mine are taken from Youtube.

Sort:  

I'm partial to Thin Lizzy, but can't find your original . What happened?

its on there now, I had trouble figuring out best way to upload it. Ended up going thru Youtube. Its not a complete song, just a portion of it.

Not bad actually. With phones you don't want to get to close to most live bands as they have a tendency to over power the microphone and distort the sound, but with an acoustic set, the reverse is true; get as close as you can get away with. Thanks!

Phewee!! Thank god you included Metallica's version. :O)

ha, wasn't sure how the Scots man would react to Irish music! Yes, I would call Metallicas my second fav.

We mostly like it. We are quite close the Scots and the Irish!


Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post. No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service. we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : http://www.steemitfollowup.cf

sweet post, baby is sleeping but I'll check the vids later

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28