The Most Hellish Metal Music

in #music6 years ago

Sometimes I find myself in the mood for some extremely harsh, brutal, and hellish sounding music. This is not the type of music I write but it has influenced some of my writing. If you hate this stuff you can still use it to scare kids on Halloween! Be warned...this is NOT entry-level metal.

It can be hard to describe what makes this music so (at times) unnerving. Sometimes it is atonal/dis-harmonic madness. Sometimes it is just the atmosphere or a really evil sounding riff. Sometimes it is just the right tones and tortured vocals. These are some of my favorite albums in this category.

Blut Aus Nord - M.O.R.T.
One of my favorite bands. They have many albums and not all sound like this...but this is definitely their most hellish. For something a bit lighter check out their album "Cosmosophy."

Deathspell Omega - Si Monumentum Requires, Circumspice
A band that has many things in common with Blut Aus Nord. Isn't that artwork alone enough to creep you out?

Terra Tenebrosa - The Reverses
The amazing evil atmosphere of this album blows me away. Amidst all the chaos will be some really catchy riffs that stick with you.

Lurker Of Chalice - Lurker Of Chalice
A sometimes confusing album. Interesting use of clean breaks and instrumentation with chanting-like vocals. An eerie masterpiece.

폐허 (Pyha) - The Haunted House
Lots of mystery surrounding this underground black metal album. It might have been recorded solely by a 14-year-old kid in Korea. Straight from the school of original black metal but far more tortured in my opinion.

There it is. I apologize if this stuff gives you nightmares or scares your children. Feel free to share some of your favorite music of this ilk. The darker the better.

Follow the work of my new band:
Writing the music: https://steemit.com/music/@big-lou/bellower-our-first-album-writing-music-demo-midi-track
Original art: https://steemit.com/art/@big-lou/bellower-our-first-album-original-artwork

Follow me on Twitch and catch my next stream:

Sort:  

Awesome list! Great bands all around, I had never heard pyha or Terra Tenebrosa, thanks for introducing me to them.

My go to stuff in this realm is Anaal Nathrakh, their music is just so dense and aggressive if feels likes it's attacking you.

For slower torture I love Burning Witch and Khanate.

Also great pics. I really dig the newest Anaal Nathrakh album.

I didn't know about any of these before, but I like them all! Nice selection. I got really drawn into the Lurker of Chalice opening track.

I think you would appreciate this artist if you like dark ambient music. Here's my contribution to the most hellish music list:

A friend just gave us that Terra Tenebrosa album on vinyl...I love it! It’s super bizarre and a bit creepy! Also love Blut Aus Nord and Deathspell Omega. Haven’t heard the other two. I’ll check them out as I get my morning work done, seems like good morning music, right?:p

The best morning music 😆

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Meno from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 67367.44
ETH 3511.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25