Touring with Jack Johnson in 2001

in #music6 years ago

IMG_7344.JPG

In 2001 I was offered a couple of weeks of shows opening for a happening new songwriter who was getting some buzz on the West Coast. His name was Jack Johnson. Story was he had been a professional surfer and had started a music career almost accidentally, but people were digging it. The rooms were 200-500 seaters, nothing very big, but he seemed cool and I generally say yes to invitations if I can - so my trusted friend/collaborator Lara Meyeratken and I jumped in a rental car and did the shows.

IMG_7369.JPG

It is an incredible opportunity to get to work in close quarters with a great artist right before they become absolutely massive. You can see the hard work, commitment and magic occurring right before your eyes. We were playing little clubs and Jack was killing it every night. And to top it off he was gracious, positive and polite to everyone he encountered. Lara and I started jokingly calling him "Golden Boy" as he just had the energy of someone who would be successful at whatever he did.

The music was great every night, stripped down, funky and simple and the crowd were having a big experience. It wasn't the feeling of seeing someone with a hit song that was going to take over the world, it was more the beginnings of a genuine CAREER built on integrity and connection with fans.

Now that I've gotten to know about the science of success over the years, the more I can see that Jack was living the method of manifestation - positive mindset, unlimited thinking, kindness, staying cool but being ambitious. I dont know whether this came naturally to him, or was learned, but the way he carried his energy into a room meant that success would be his, sooner or later, in whatever form made sense.

IMG_7371.JPG

After the tour, his wife Kim even sent us a thank you note - Unheard of in rock n roll! Yes, my grandmother would call Jack and Kim "mensches" had she ever met them.

IMG_7372.JPG

Jack is the guy of kind I have only felt happy for as his star ascended, as he really modeled for me the possibility of getting to the top without compromise or giving up your basic values. He did it the right way...

Follow for daily thoughts, songs, videos, dreams and musings
@benleemusic

Sort:  

This is quite a story Ben. Thanks for sharing. It's cool that he's a good guy as well!

Kindness is the coolest.

🙌🏼 That’s Awesome.

I love seeing people with that Glow Vibe.. and I especially love seeing them maintaining it. 💛

Yes that is another aspect of the mystery....how to STAY connected...

Yes... the first person that came to mind when I was writing that actually was Oprah! She’s kept her Glow on through some big stuff. I am quite proud of her.

I think that’s the mastery though isn’t it. Expanding from the Centre as we expand into/through the world.

Great insights, thanks! It's great to see people succeeding not despite but because of being genuine and kind and as you say not giving up basic values. And I just realized the funny coincidence that I just today posted a piece I had written around the same time (2000 or so), seems like throwback thursday ;)

Totally - success should also equal personal development! Like Jay-Z bragged "I might just be getting nicer!"

Such a lovely little insight into your journey! Thanks for sharing

Glad you enjoyed it - just followed you - looking forward to your posts.

Thank you! Will hopefully be able to join the doterra team soon to spread the message on Steemit too!

Feel free to email us [email protected] anytime with dōTERRA questions...

I'm liking all the in-depth, behind the scenes stuff you're posting Ben. It's really cool.

Also, your hair!

Yeah my hair was pretty abundant :) This is a fun platform for broadening out the description of some moments in my history.

His "In Between Dreams" album must be one of the albums I have listened to the most so far... Really love his music. It reminds me a bit of yours.

Yeah he creates a great atmosphere

I never knew you toured with him. Jack Johnson is my jam. I was only slightly disappointed in the curious George album. Everything before and everything after has been great. That is an awesome experience you must have had. How old were you at the time?

I was 23.

@benleemusic Nice post ! and no matter what happens , some memories can never be replaced .

Claire Danes too? woow nice picture there...

@benleemusic and Claire Danes dated for a few years I believe :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70979.31
ETH 3711.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79