Soundtrack Obsession : The Greatest Showman

in #music6 years ago

Guys!!!

Who hasn't seen this movie?

If you're a music lover like me, I'm telling ya now, you need to experience this movie.

If you have been through life battered, bruised, battling through acceptance from others and self, and still here to tell the tale.. Make sure you have a box of tissues next to you when you watch it.

I found this movie on Foxtel late the other night and I just had to put it on. For no other reason than it was a Hugh Jackson movie and that boy has never let me down so I was keen. I realised it was a musical the 2nd song in.

I honestly didnt know what to expect as I live in a bubble most of the time, but I didnt I know I was going to be in bed at 1am in the morning next to a sleeping Hubby trying to keep my sobbing down.

This movie was really intense for me and brought up so many emotions.

Perhaps it's because Venus is in retrograde from now until mid November and that means relationships are in focus that this movie reduced me to pieces.

I could relate to each song on such a personal level and then those harmonies, lyrics, music.. everything!!

I could go on and talk about the movie and all that but I wont spoil it for those who haven't seen it yet. Instead I hope to entice people with the soundtrack.

Check out Keale killing "This Is Me".

This Is Me

Keala Settle, The Greatest Showman Ensemble

I am not a stranger to the dark
Hide away, they say
'Cause we don't want your broken parts
I've learned to be ashamed of all my scars
Run away, they say
No one'll love you as you are

But I won't let them break me down to dust
I know that there's a place for us
For we are glorious

When the sharpest words wanna cut me down
I'm gonna send a flood, gonna drown them out
I am brave, I am bruised
I am who I'm meant to be, this is me
Look out 'cause here I come
And I'm marching on to the beat I drum
I'm not scared to be seen
I make no apologies, this is me

Oh-oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh, oh

Another round of bullets hits my skin
Well, fire away 'cause today, I won't let the shame sink in
We are bursting through the barricades and
Reaching for the sun (we are warriors)
Yeah, that's what we've become (yeah, that's what we've become)

I won't let them break me down to dust
I know that there's a place for us
For we are glorious

When the sharpest words wanna cut me down
I'm gonna send a flood, gonna drown them out
I am brave, I am bruised
I am who I'm meant to be, this is me
Look out 'cause here I come
And I'm marching on to the beat I drum
I'm not scared to be seen
I make no apologies, this is me

Oh-oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh, oh
This is me

and I know that I deserve your love
(Oh-oh-oh-oh) 'cause there's nothing I'm not worthy of
(Oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh, oh)
When the sharpest words wanna cut me down
I'm gonna send a flood, gonna drown them out
This is brave, this is proof
This is who I'm meant to be, this is me

Look out 'cause here I come (look out 'cause here I come)
And I'm marching on to the beat I drum (marching on, marching, marching on)
I'm not scared to be seen
I make no apologies, this is me

When the sharpest words wanna cut me down
I'm gonna send a flood, gonna drown them out
I'm gonna send a flood
Gonna drown them out
Oh
This is me

Songwriters: Justin Paul / Benj Pasek
This Is Me lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd.


Who felt that? Who wants more of it?!

Right here guys. The soundtrack.. Thank you Atlantic Records!

Seriously, every song is brilliant. Another fave of mine is "Never Enough" - that's another tear jerker.

If you're already familiar and have been obsessed far longer than I have been well have you seen this from the amazing Todrick Hall??

I can't rave about this movie enough. I have seen it every day since I first watched it and I'm getting geared up to watch it now. Not only is the soundtrack amazing, it's visually spectacular too but don't just take my word for it. Go and see it for yourself.

Happy Friday Steemit!






Sort:  

I might have to watch it then 😆 if you are recommending it

Go do it hun! While youre eating your adobo :D

Its on foxtel dont know if its on Netflix tho.

My two year old daughter is a music lover and this movie keeps her dancing and singing althroughout. She would call me and make me stop whatever I am doing so I can partner with her everytime Zendaya and Zac Efron are dancing. This is one of the greatest bonding moments with Aya! Of course she would be Zendaya, I am Zac. Just like she is Beauty and I'm Beast.

Lol shes too cute Rome. Id love to see you both dancing together. #dtube! ;)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.613 which ranks you at #1661 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1660).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #209.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello @bearone, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I might have to watch it then 😆 if you are recommending it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44