ThinkMove: My Experimental Animated Music Video

in #music5 years ago

So Ive just been re-realising how much FUN animation is! I havn't really done it since I was a kid and its been great fun playing with my friends iPad. Drawing directly on to a screen is where its at right?

One really fun thing you can do ( Im using a program called Animation Desk - the free version ) is record a video straight in to the program and then draw over the frames....TOO MUCH FUN!!!!

So I filmed @sazzler in our semi-deconstructed kitchen and then scribbled ALL over her face, over and over and over again - which was very therapeutic. Then I took an original track by our good friend @ewanduffus who has been smashing them out on his new op1 which is a crazy little keyboard synthesiser thing with all sorts of magical powers.
And over this track I spliced my little animation, many times, forwards,backwards, repeating, jumping until I had formed a satisfying little narrative: CHECK IT OUT:

Now I know its got some very repetitive areas, but that is ACTUALLY how I wanted it, it just felt right at the time, so Deal with it (I just hope you rode it out until the payoff at the end! :D ) Somehow it feels like it captures an essence of lifes biazarre repetitive nature and also that burning desire just to BREAK OUT of your cycles and let loose - hopefully not with any murderous results....

So there we go, animation is fun, I will be indulging in some more of this sort of thing and hopefully sharing some silly little bits of nonsense with you all.

Now here is a picture of an op1:
op1 pic.jpg
go check them out on youtube, its really cool what you can do with them, but they are very expensive : (

Moosive LoveJungles in all Directions At you Steemioids
Basil x

Sort:  

Hi Basil, good to see you back in town.

Any new film projects on the go at the moment?

Hey! Yeah I seem to be floating back in to the steemisphere again....it was never really my intention to float away from it, but then I guess thats the nature of floating! I do have a film project on the go, a short comedy film that Im helping a friend to produce. We're starting filming tomorrow in fact! I suppose theres a chance I might give you all a little teaser soon....

That's pretty cool. I will have to check out the software! My son would be into that kinda stuff and secretly me too! It could be our next homeschooling project. Did you have to draw on each frame separately? I'm wondering how much time it took you just for the drawing?
I have to say, @sazzler has a very inventive way of cooking. If I do that, there will surely be blood lol.

yeah it does take quite a while. I drew 86 separate frames for this one to make about 10seconds of footage which I exported and then put in to HitFilm which you can also get for free (express version) but thats a little bit of an extra learning curve if you've never edited film before....thats where I turned 10 seconds in to 4 minutes by messing about with looping and reversing etc. Definitely worth checking out the animation program, anyone with a bit of patience will love it!

Jeez, that's quite the bit of work. But it does sound very therapeutic :) I think video editing can be anyway. Unless stuff doesn't work out the way I want it, then it gets frustrating. I use LightWorks usually, I wonder if it can be uploaded in that too. Already installed the animation desk :)

@basilmarples You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

This was totally freaking me out. The end is nice though:)

I kept wanting to turn the water off!

I know right? Its just streaming constantly the whole way through! haha! Just bear in mind that it was only a 10 second clip, im sure we turned it off eventually.....oh wait.....why are my feet so wet?

Wow this is really neat, I'm definitely going to play with this animation desk app... Redrum at the end eh

Posted using Partiko Android

well yes, the @sazzler does have a murderous streak in her!

Man that track of your friend is beautiful. Is there a place where one can listen to his nice musix?

Haha the end is the cherry at the top. Kinda gives me a Michael Myers vibe.

he's a bit of a hidden gem Im afraid.... I will ask him, but I don't think he's been putting anything online. Mind you, he hasn't had the op1 all that long so this particular style is a new venture for him. I'll encourage him to put some of his stuff out!

I love that kind of music man. Hopefully we can have a little more of those nice op1 tracks of him.

I just put out another one! check it out my friend :) - he even put some lyrics on this one! its on my blog x

Nice! thanks for the shout mate (ノ´ 0 `)ノ.

sick man! gonna play with this for sure!

its super fun!

I love this creativity

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80