"Steampunk" - I've Just Discovered A Treasure Of Music And I'd Like To Share It With You

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I've Just Discovered A Treasure Of Music And I'd Like To Share It With You

Yes folks, I recently came across a library of music which I never knew existed - 'Steampunk' by genre, and to be found in abundance on www.steampunkradio.com.

spradio.jpg

steampunkradio.com

page divider steemit stars.png

Steampunk:

"Steampunk music can be understood as belonging to the 21st century and often consists of bands incorporating older, traditional styles of music with modern contemporary electronic elements. The older styles can range in source from jazz, to classical, to world music, but it is the merger of sounds from the presenet electronic age that generally makes the music to be considered steampunk. This means our streams can contain the post-1945 modern forms of post-tonal music, such as serial music, electroacousitc music, musique conrete, atonal music, and minimalist music), world fusion electronica, electroswing, and more! In addition to music from the acadmic world, our streams also contain many exmples of the finest works coming from film score composers, game music composers, avantgarde contemporary classical musicians, and bands working in the neoclassical and post modern genres, all blended into set lists that make sense with one another."
steampunkradio.com

Steampunk music may not appeal to all tastes, but it resonates very well with me where I am just now. The music is in a wide range of styles and tempos, but the thing that all the stuff I've listened to so far has contained are attributes of power and uplift, and I was led on a trail of discovery and magical music delight. It comes across as healing music - positive and unsentimental yet deeply emotional. There are a many different artists supported on Steampunk Radio playing incredible music that sounds new paradigm to my ears. The energy of the 'steampunk' genre seems to reach upwards in a manner that resonates well with my own sense of spirituality, universality and oneness.

I encourage you to check steampunkradio.com out for yourself. I offer you a selection of three songs from a band called 'Faun', whose playlist song 'Mit dem Wind' led me on to explore their music. The music is pagan, set in timeless time with some lyrics in a form of medieval German (still somewhat comprehensible to a modern German speaker lol) - a celebration of life, nature, wholesomeness.

page divider steemit stars.png

"Mit dem Wind" - ('With the Wind' - my intro to Faun, listened to at full volume with headphones on and a high :)

page divider steemit stars.png

"Die Wilde Jagd" ('The Wild Hunt' or 'The Savage Hunter' ? - about a maiden who gets away from the lusty reach of the local miller)

page divider steemit stars.png

"I Don't Speak Human" - awesome !

page divider steemit stars.png

Context:

I came across Steampunk Radio via the enigmatic being who goes by the name of @frankbacon, and whose message "Highly rEsteemed!" I had seen on many of the posts that I tend to read, often followed by mysterious and curiosity-piquing memes and comments. Skim-diving FB's blog did little to enlighten me as to what FB was about - it would require much longer to 'read' the sci-fi novel in which he appears and which he appears also to be authoring, so to literally speak. However, I did listen to an extremely interesting and engaging 90 minutes of pure FB on the 'Steem it Talk Chill'n'Chat Show' on DLive hosted by @ericwilson:

  • dunno if it'll still be available after the DLive-sprung surprise ship-jump into the Steemless Sea
  • skip to around 15 mins when the interview actually starts
  • FB evaporates at 1hr 45m - poof!

From what I can gather, FB is/may be a sci-fi character (Hi there 🔆), a LARPing figment of imagination that occasionally assumes a human voice and uses voice-to-text software to communicate and meet up on the Steem blockchain as well as in other empowered and conceptual spaces!? Make what sense of that you will (and I am clearly confused! :), his 'interview' with Eric Wilson was kinda mind-blowing and, in a tangential manner that I cannot bind within the rough framework of wordy sentences, what 'he' said made endless sense to me, though I may have left-brain understood little. The host did a pretty amazing and adept job of keeping up and holding his own I thought - nice! One of the less abstract things to emerge from that conversation is that FB is the 'Daddy-O' of Steampunk Radio and truly, I found a strong sense of alignment between the underlying themes and energies of the music that I identify above and what FB 'himself' was expressing. The homonymic connection between 'Steampunk' and 'Steem' is interesting, given that the 'steam' from Steampunk refers to the Age of Steam (see bottom video) and I don't think that the blockchain was around when the SPR website was created.

I encourage the curious and uninitiated to check out the FB phenomenon for themselves, it's not at all scary, but be warned! I really don't have the first clue as to what FB is on about, so please don't ask Barge, perhaps one of the other 2365 followers will be able to explain :D...however, in a fantastically (seemingly) contradictory and inexplicably paradoxical way, it's all utterly fucking brilliant!

"I wanted to create a free source for people to check out streaming steampunk music. While, it is true that there is no completely agreed upon definition of what constitutes "steampunk music", there have evolved a certain set of bands and aesthetics which are at the forefront of the establishment of the genre and we are here to share them with you!"
steampunkradio.com

page divider steemit stars.png

In rounding off, below is an 8 min BooTube video entitled The Steampunk Beginners Guide 1 - What is a Steampunk? It seems to marry form with content in a rather fine & dandy manner I think!

page divider steemit stars.png

blogmap-footer image.png

Sort:  

Give these guys a listen. Not all of their stuff is nearly as good as this one though.

Thanks :) - heard mention of them in the vid below, which also references some other bands that I'd like to check out!

HIGHLY rEsteemed!

I got my eye on ya Bruv ; )

Bacon Radio.png

highoncaps.jpg

Wow...

I encourage the curious and uninitiated to check out the FB phenomenon for themselves, it's not at all scary, but be warned!

Frank Bacon Recommendation .png

theflare.jpg

Congratulations @barge! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Amazing videos friend..

Hi @barge!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.453 which ranks you at #16585 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 16590).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 424 contributions, your post is ranked at #196.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30