Chronicles of Alan Sound Engineer , Anyone? Tryst Continued

in #music8 years ago (edited)

Chronicles of Alan Sound Engineer , Anyone? Tryst Continued.

Did several Gigs at Pubs around Randburg with Cedric and the crew.
Just by the way ,he is known to all and Sundry as Cedz, I am not doing this in chronological order as new memories keep popping in.

One Saturday we headed out to Grasmere, in a large open field with tents set up for an event for the Selous Scouts and their families. Rhodesia’s ( Now Zimbabwe) ex Crack Special Forces Group. Let me tell you now ,

there were some real hard looking characters in that group!

Anyhow , they loved the Music , Food was Great , Sunny Highveld Day.
Packed up and headed for VanderBijlPark a City not far from Vereeniging where the Rhino Rally, for Bikers was being held. School Grounds had been hired for this event. Set up and did Soundcheck just as dusk was coming on. As mentioned a hot day, suddenly from nowhere , an icy wind ( middle of Summer) came up, I was in a T-shirt and Jeans,

I could not believe how the temperature dropped.

Freddy took pity on me , “ I have an old ,dirty jersey I wear to work on the car , it’s under the spare wheel” Bring it , please. I swear it prevented me suffering from Hypothermia.
This taught me a lesson I have never forgotten, I do not go out without a jacket in the car! I do not care how hot it is!
I do not remember much more about that particular evening, but as usual, Tryst went down well , and I am sure, me doing the sound for them helped in a small way.
There was a Bike Club called the Centurions , based in Vanderbijlpark,The President is a really nice Guy and I did a number of Gigs there with Tryst, Big Grounds and Clubhouse ,normally the Bands played on a large Veranda against the outer wall of the Clubhouse, with just enough roofing to cover the Bands and My PA System. If the weather was inclement ,there was plenty of room to hold the event inside.

Let us not forget that Bike Clubs are sometimes called Bike Gangs!

Quick Refresher on Myself 6ft 3inches tall, Skinny ( Maybe wiry is better) years of doing Karate and a bit of Boxing. Never wear sandles, ( usually steel toe-capped boots),used to carrying heavy equipment, and always sizing up what is around me, I will never be taken by surprise!
Rain comes up ,we start moving all the equipment inside on my 3rd trip , a Biker stands in front of me, I say excuse me , he grabs me between the legs , I immediately hit him , right handed ( remember my left arm is not great) with the palm of my hand on the base of his sternum.

He goes flying backwards into a wall , this is instinctive, forgetting where I am.

There is a hushed silence , and then, Thank Heavens, they laughed at him, somebody helped him up with “ You should watch out for Musicians”


Cedz breathed a sigh of relief , we re-setup , and the party continued . There were always a selection of food trailers at these events and the food was excellent!, Have I mentioned that I am a freestyle Glutton?
I lost a 100metre long Heavy Duty , Extension at this same place once ,in my LDV when I got there, not in it when I got home, annoying and expensive.
Equipment used at this time with Tryst
Samson Q7 Mikes for vocals( great sounding, less expensive, equivalent of an SM58
Cannot remember the make of Drum Mikes but had full set.
Used instrument Mikes in front of Guitar Cabs ,handle it well
2x JBL Dual 15” speakers plus Horn for mids and tops
2x Soundcraft Dual 18” ( Eminence Speakers) for Bottoms
Electronic 2 way Crossover, Effects Unit, Audio Exciter ( with Bass Boost if required) 31 Channel Stereo Graphic Equaliser.
Peavey 12 Channel Mixing Desk
3x Floor Monitors ( Foldback)

Till Next Time , My Friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60140.96
ETH 2378.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59