Chronicles of Alan;Sound Engineer, Anyone? Bohemian 3

in #music7 years ago (edited)

This is Eddie, The Barman from the Bohemian, since he cut off his Dreadlocks , I call him Half Eddie

One night arriving at the Club there was a talented Band from Cape Town called Mr. Cat and the Jackal, they were multi instrumentalists , which meant they needed a lot of oddly placed mike's for all the ukelele's , Banjo's violins, etc .

I personally find this irritating as there is no smooth flow to the music , just constant change!

Great on a Big Stage , where everything can be pre-setup in various places, not so good on a small club stage.


That night there were several bands , but as they were the Headliners , they played last, They had brought their own Desk with plus an operator for it . Nevertheless they used all my Stands, Mike's , Di's cables etc.
This necessitated me doing the first 2 Bands , unplugging the Snake from the fixed club Desk , moving it all over to their desk ( and back again when they were done )
The Club operates as a Door Deal:- The Bands operate the Door, set the entrance fee , but pay the SE out of their take .
As you will gather from the aforegoing, I was kept busier than normal .
All the Bands were Good, big appreciative crowd, comes pack up time , I am rolling up my cables and paraphernalia , reconnect the Club Desk , and suddenly a problem occurs,

Mr. Cat and the Jackal are not going to pay me as they brought their own SE with them!

The Manager of the Bo see's me heading their way , taps me on the shoulder pulls me to one side and said " The Club will pay you"

I assume this is because , The Bohemian does not normally have Bouncers , and

they have seen me unload unsavoury characters from there before.

I am not saying they were bad Guy's I just did not appreciate the attitude., There would have been no Gig if I was not there.

More to come My Friends

Sort:  

Hello my friend

Thanks for this post and the wonderful post
I really liked what I wrote in this post
The selection of the post is so lovely
Happy day to you and always

Thank You for your kind comment and visit , much appreciated , My Friend.

Good photo of Half Eddie. Dreads are very expensive to maintain!!!

This photo would have been taken around April 2013 at the Old Bo , He only cut them off a few Months ago , so, certainly a Good Innings. Thanks for the Visit.

Atleast we have south africans here.

Thank You for the visit, I assume you are from SA as well?

Yeah i am, am into crypoto currency, share on JSE are boring affected by politics hence i found this site.

Excellent work dear friend @awgbibb I like many life stories, thanks for sharing.
Have a nice day

Thank you so much ,My Friend, for your comment and your Good Wishes, I appreciate you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50