Amen By Rich Brian Music Review

in #music7 years ago

Album Review By: Brandon Ben

Instagram @brandonbenmusic
Twitter @brandonbenmusic

Rich Brian – Amen
Formally known as Rich Chigga, Rich Brian has released his debut album, titled Amen. Now, I have always considered Rich Brian to be somewhat of a joke. He puts out “Dat Stick,” seemingly as a joke, and takes off. He probably then thought, “oh wait, people like me, I need to get serious.” The only other track I heard before listening to this album is “Glow Like Dat,” which I did indeed enjoy. So, I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I listened to this album.
First impressions, the kid can rap. If he’s trying to be less of a meme, this was the right move. But, this album doesn’t really grab my attention. I found myself not really being able to pay attention, and I ended up just skipping to “Glow Like Dat.” Every track kind of sounds the same, and Rich Brian could have done way more with the features. Thus, this album confuses me.
Who is Rich Brian trying to me? A meme? Apparently not, its obvious he’s trying to be serious. He is sort of funny? He’s not very deep, it seems like the lyrics don’t have much depth to them. He has potential, there’s no doubt about that, but his music is quite bland. The beats are repetitive, his rapping is repetitive, there is nothing interesting about this release.
So, this is somewhat of an open letter to Brian. Dude, you can do this! You have the talent, the resources, the fame, the look, the persona. You need to try more! This time is crucial, and you’ll quickly fall of the grid if you don’t get it together. But hey, that’s my opinion! What’s yours?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18