How To Make A Living As An Independent Musician - A New VLOG / Blog

in #music7 years ago

A Revolution Is Starting!

fist & mic.png

One of the most soul destroying things as an independent musician is that we put a LOT of time and effort, not to mention considerable talent, into creating our music, only to find it virtually impossible to make a reasonable amount of money from our art. Scratch that - ANY MONEY FROM OUR ART!!

As well as a promoter of independent musicians (through my website http://www.AtomCollectorRecords.com and associated social media accounts) I am also a musician (https://soundcloud.com/juxtamusic) so I understand from a "boots on the ground" perspective how hard it can be.

The sad fact is that most fans are not willing to pay for music nowadays and would rather stream tracks from YouTube, Spotify, Deezer, etc. Even mainstream bands make most of their money from live shows and merch so they are not even immune!

2018 - The Year We Take The Power Back!

Well I believe that we are on the verge of a revolution and it is all thanks to the blockchain and crypto currency!

I am going to produce a vlog and blog taking you through the steps that I am using to earn money from my music, with real world examples and details of how much I am earning.

The approach I am going to take requires you to commit some time to promoting your music and building a support network through social media and a host of new websites where you get paid a little every time someone listens to your music or votes for your music video, blog post (behind the scenes, live show, production techniques, etc.).

Screen Shot 2018-01-16 at 12.02.21.png

I am coming across new websites on an almost daily basis and I will test each one and inform you about how well it works and what I think the potential is.

I'll show you a breakdown of how much time you should spend on things like: Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Steemit, etc. and what you should be doing to grow these organically (hint: it's not posting "listen to my music"!).

I'll explain:

  • Why you should upload your music EVERYWHERE
  • Why you shouldn't care too much about how much you make on individual platforms
  • How to get involved in competitions to boost your profile and earnings (such as "openmic")
  • Why you should create EVERY social media account you can and cross link all of them
  • How to create a compelling profile for your social media accounts to encourage follows
  • What you should and shouldn't post on your social media accounts
  • Why you should help others and not just push your own music
  • How to submit your music to independent radio stations (I will tell you which ones my music is played on too)
  • Build a support network of independent artist who are willing to help each other not just themselves. Power in numbers!
  • How to get your fans to earn you money when they: listen to your music, watch your music videos, surf the web, play games, chat, make calls, shop online & more!
  • How to get onto Spotify playlists that are ACTUALLY PLAYED so they show up in artist's profiles
  • How to sign up to each website I talk about with step by step instructions
  • How to cash in your crypto currency and withdraw it to a bank account

I'll also answer any questions you may have and happily engage in debate about the various topics covered (I don't have ALL the answers but between us I bet we do!).

This is an exciting time to be an independent musician and I am looking forward to helping you turn your music from a hobby to a paying career!

So please follow me and share this article and let's make 2018 the year independent musicians TOOK THE POWER BACK!!!

Thank you!
JJ.

Sort:  

I'm excited to see where you go with this. There's a whole new world opening up as far as being a musician is concerned and not much information (yet) on how to take advantage of it.

Indeed. I only became a musician a couple of years ago even though I am no spring chicken!

At the time I was really frustrated that I couldn't get my music heard on SoundCloud (and 1000s of amazing tracks were festering there, undiscovered) so as I am a computer programmer I developed AtomCollectorRecords.com.

Little did I know that I would also have the opportunity to help independent musicians actually make money too!

I hope to get started on the first video today.

Awesome, can't wait to get started with this! Just discovered DSound a moment ago.... Let the revolution unfold...

Thank you @petrajordan. I'm looking forward to getting started! There are so many sites popping up. I'm sure some will fizzle out and some will stay but it's a very exciting time!

Yes, we'll see... I just resteemed your post. I'm also a part of a large community of songwriters... and I can't wait to share good reviews about blockchain music platforms with them. I will also be reviewing my own experience using them and I'm very curious what others have to say. So you got me tuned in ;)

Thank you very much for the resteem. I'm still getting to grips with the best way to use Steemit as I am new here but I'm loving it so far!

2018 is going to be a great year for independent musicians. I can feel it.

Definitely excited to see what the future holds. I love making music, I love making money. Would be great to make a living off music

I think it will be possible. I am already doing pretty well with musicoin and adding the other sites such as Steemit into the mix should make it viable to earn a living.

Here is my musicoin referral link if you are interested. I will get some $MUSIC if you use it: https://musicoin.org/accept/MUSIC0247220ae8d0d19dd9850980

Thank you!

Just trying to upload the first video now but my internet is very slow!

Love this! I'm finding more and more content on Steem that is right up my alley. I look forward to following your content and participating where I can. What is the 'openmic' that you mentioned? I'm keen to learn more. Thanks.

Glad you enjoyed it!

The guy who runs #openmic is @luzcypher. Just follow him and read his posts and you'll get the gist of it :-)

I have entered a couple of times but I haven't really had the time recently. It's a lot of fun and there's some amazing talent from all corners of the globe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50