What I like about Jazz and its History!

in #music7 years ago

I've been enrolled in college for a little under a month now and the most interesting class I'm taking is the American History of Jazz. This has been my very fist exposure to jazz in the literal term of sitting down and listening to the genre of jazz. The funny thing about jazz and what I think makes it so interesting is that the people involved in its creation like Louis Armstrong and Bessie Smith didn't know they were making a new genre. The tactics and practices they created have shaped all types of music beyond just jazz. Modern day pop, rock & roll and so much more have been influenced by those same practices that shaped the genre of jazz. The definition of jazz itself isn't so clear cut it flows through many different eras of music from its beginnings in rag time and to the combination of Creole, Latino musical styles and the New Orleans culture.

Maple Leaf Rag by James Reese Joplin has been my favorite song so far. How he handles the piano and the sound he makes it produce is unlike anything I've really heard prior and definitely recommend giving it a listen to. The video below is said to be the actual playing of James Reese Joplin himself from a Pianola roll (a storage device for a self playing piano)that was found in the wrong box on eBay which is amazing in it's own right.

I hope you have enjoyed my article and I hope I may have peeked your interest in jazz and it's history!

Sort:  

I am new at Steemit. Its a great community.
I 'm friendly minded.
I need help to grow up this community.
Any one follow me @rsrb and upvote my comment me inform me I also do the same.
Thanks

Thanks will do!

Thanks for your work sir.... Love it. Followed...

Congratulations @aswarez! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aswarez! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43