How I got a Lil B feature for £0.45 [Extended]

in #music5 years ago

I was on twitter, looking for playlists to submit a song to and Lil B was mentioning that he was looking for songs to submit to his Pandora playlist.

I DM'd him, sent him some of my music and he came back wanting to work with me. I had 50 pence in the bank and I didn't know what to do.

I told him through email that I only had 50p and he said "Send what you have, I am flexible with any budget".

I wanted to keep some so I sent Lil B 45p (56 cents), told him that I will send more money on Friday and sent him the remix that I would like him to record a verse for.

Suprisingly, he accepted it and came back to me this afternoon with a verse that only Lil B could make sound good.

He sent the paperwork and honestly, I expected fart sounds for a verse but I got something half-decent.

I remember that guy who paid $350 for a Lil B feature on here and it was similar quality to the verse I was given so I say for less than a can of Pepsi, it was worth it.

I then got an email from a blog called Highsnobiety who wanted to interview me about the Lil B feature. I was excited about this and decided to reply and after a few days, I got in touch with one of the editors and via Facebook's Messenger, the interview started.

Halfway into the interview, I got a message from Lil B saying "family love you but the label not approving says you have not paid enough we already got you the lil b verse" which meant that I could not release it on Spotify but he gave me permission to release the song onto Soundcloud & YouTube, which is Lil B's biggest audience.

I released the song which was a remix of my track Improve on Ya the same day I got the message.

Me and the interviewer continued and last friday, (9th of August), the article released and on YouTube, the streams shot up from 50 to 1.1K in less than two days.

Thank you for reading this.

Link to the track and Highsnobiety article
Track with Lil B:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46