Listen to "Follow" By ~ SoloCult ~ On The Album "Evil Wonder"

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Evil Wonder has arrived... How Far Does the Rabbit Hole Really GO Down Anyways?

Listen now to the track "Follow"

Rewards over $1 SBD go directly to the artist

Hi my name is Artopium Mike and I run the site Artopium.com. I genuinely want to help promote your work just like I did for Solocult. Be sure to join Artopium.com for free and I'll be sure to promote and upvote!

Sort:  

That's bad ass.. I left a comment on the songs page too 👍👍

Thanks! I'll let them know you think so!

Rad sketch @artopium! Who did the art for the Evil Wonder?

The female rapper of this duo. Her name is Xel (pronounced Chel).

thanks Mike you rock ☺️

Now this is weird! I like it!

Is this the direction music is headed?
Maybe I'm too far from the edge to see it...

Quite a ways from it's roots...

Or even

If I'm wrong about where the origins lie please enlighten and educate me...

Are you referring to the track I posted?

Yes...
Am I missing something...?
Others seem to like it some even "blown away"...

Thank You...!
I've added another great group to my list...

Now that is enjoyable...!
Everything is connected, a little odd, but it just flows and ... and...

I get what you mean...

Hmm. Yes I think it's a sense of post-millennial irony. Also, the beat is damn good. These guys are low budget and underground, unknown, make their stuff in their garage, kind-of-thing. All of the music I present from Artopium has been posted by mostly unknown musicians who are not signed by any major label. My goal is to get them into the limelight. So my first argument with your comparison to the videos above is that those dudes were propped up by major labels and generally sucked because they lacked any original quality. As a response to vapid music put out by the music industry, a kind of low-fi low budget sounding genre of techno came out called "Electroclash" which was intentionally made to sound bad. Lyrics in electroclash music are ironically flat, monotone, with sort of "bad beats". Go look this up on Google if you're not familiar. Fast forward now to 2012, A band starting to become popular that took this idea to "the next level". You may have heard of Die Antwoord before. If not, definitely watch the video. ;) Regardless of what anyone thinks of Die Antwoord, they redefined this irony further, taking to unbelievable proportions. Die Antwoord is meant to disturb you, to shock you out of your sense of "normal" music. But it's done with a sense of irony and self-fulfilling prophecy. Actually, without writing a 5000 word dissertation, I'd have a hard time explaining Die Antwoord in a Steemit comment. As one of their lyrics explain, "If you haven't got it by now then you're never going to get it."

A lot of people refer to the genre that Die-Antwoord has created as "rave-rap" but I don't think this explains them well enough at all. However, Solocult can be better understood in this context. Hope that helps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65696.70
ETH 2650.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88