How Far Would You Travel to See a Band You Love? - My 1986 Oingo Boingo Experience.

in #music8 years ago

It all started back in 1981 when I first saw the 'Little Girls' video clip on TV and realized that this unique sound had to be explored.

Fast forward to 1985 and three albums later, 

this band and music had become part of my life, and I soon realized they may never tour Australia due to the large band size (8 members) and virtually no radio play here in Sydney.

A Boingo friend that lived in Anaheim, Calif. told me at that time a quote I will never forget, she said "You haven't lived until you see Oingo Boingo live in concert'.

And that was all the motivation I needed!

My Anaheim friend offered to put me up if I decided to go there. Mentally I was there already, but now I had to organize my physical self to get there, which didn't take long at all - Pumped!

I arrived there in mid May, four weeks before the concert of a lifetime, I was 23 at the time and suggested I wanted to capture this event on film (photos). In a heartbeat she replied that it would be almost impossible because security do a 'pat down' search on everyone entering the concert (Irvine Meadow's Outdoor Amphitheater), she had seen them several times before.

The idea was to detach the lens (which she put in her bag) and I would put the body down the front of my jeans.

We got through!

There was no support band and they played the Wall of Voodoo album 'Seven Days in Sammystown' over the speakers as we made our way through the crowd up to the front of the stage.

Here are some shots I took of Danny Elfman...

 

And of the band...

And when it all over and back home, besides the pics I had this shirt to remember it by...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56204.99
ETH 2395.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38