You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hate Mail From Phil Collins

in #music6 years ago

I have mixed feelings about this:
I'm a Neil Strauss and early Genesis fan.
I just read Ego is the enemy by Ryan Holiday and Mr. Collins answer reminded me of an example of the book.

When Orson Wells created Citizen Kane, one of the Media Mogul it was based on, got very self conscious about it and tried to block it. He spent a lot of money and energy making it difficult for Wells to promote the movie (which was a commercial failure at first).
Obviously now, many people consider it the best movie ever and the fact that I forgot the name of the media mogul even though I've read it last week, says something about his legacy.

The point is, some very powerful or succesful men are still touched by critics from far less powerful or successful people (Neil was 'just' a columnist at the time, not a superstar like now). That's caused by Ego according to Mr. Holiday's book.

So then I read the comments and one of them mention a spiteful review by Neil.
I read the review and, although not positive, I didn't find it spiteful.
I think Mr. Collins took it that way because it resonnated with his own insecurities of the time (am I really a washed out 70ies prog rocker?).

The point is: get your Ego in check right now before you're successful...because success won't solve your problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50