Sweet Ascent -- MY LIFE --Modern Rock

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Introducing to DTube...The straight ahead rock-n-roll of Sweet Ascent! My Life is about the resistance to the forces of corporate music that attempts to homogenize, standardize, clone and blandly prepackage bands and American Music.

My Life --lyrics by Sweet Ascent
Write a sad song and let them know
A reputation you have to uphold
What if I say no?
Told how to dress, how to sound, how to make it
But this is my life you can take it or leave it

Stand up if you're tired of being held down
And I stand up for you not just myself
I'm living my life the way I've always wanted to
My life's not a commodity a traded good
If you're with me let it echo through a crowded room
My life doesn't belong to you
I lost my subtlety along the way
I'm sorry if these words are too in your face
I've got no time for complicated explanations
I'll say it again maybe this time you'll listen

Stand up if you're tired of being held down
And I stand up for you not just myself
I'm living my life the way
I've always wanted to
My life's not a commodity a traded good
If you're with me let it echo through a crowded room
My life doesn't belong to you

From Lawrence, Kansas, Sweet Ascent is a four-piece rock band comprised of Jordan Rebman, Bobby Louden, Jacob Dorn, and Allex Wilson. The group has undergone many changes both in membership and style to become the ensemble they are today. Sweet Ascent has always been a band that isn't focused on the past, rather one that encompasses the present and is always chasing the future. Following the release of their debut LP 'Take It Or Leave It', it's clear that the group has embraced their future sound and is not letting up.

Sweet Ascent can be found on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Spotify, and Youtube.
All Music is available on iTunes
Merchandise can be viewed at SweetAscentmerch.storenvy.com

Video posted with permission from the members of Sweet Ascent, and one of them happens to be my son. :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed by # BlogBooster and the curation trail.
Have a great day!

Great band! Good modern hard-rock, didn't know about them before watching the vídeo. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for watching, @calisay. They played the eastern seaboard leg of Warped last year and just finished another swing through the east last month. They are off to play the west coast next month. I have a couple more videos from them I will post later. All good stuff.

Pretty good! Checking out their other songs on Spotify right now.

They are. Since I have watched them from day one, I have seen how they have grown and fought through to the music they make. Thanks for giving a listen, @queenvick!
Oh and I will post more of their stuff and probably be giving away a CD soon.

Awesome. To update - I really like "Be Someone Today". Very solid song. Definitely going to have to give each song a more thorough listen. Also, very cool that they were part of Warped!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hello!! Gave you an upvote,
Hope you'll return back a favor

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67