SCRUFFY MUSIC - Showcasing The Local Talent Of Knoxville, TennesseesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

TUATHA DEA
Celtic Tribal Gypsy Rock!




Photo: Tuatha Dea


One evening, while perusing the music calendar in the newspaper, as is my habit, I saw listed a band by the name of “Tuatha Dea” that would be playing at Preservation Pub my home away from home, on December 21st, 2010.


Performing WHISKEY IN THE JAR, at Preservation Pub Knoxville, TN


Tuatha Dea, or “Children of the Gods”

Being fairly well connected at the time in the local music scene, I knew I'd never heard of this band and therefore it was mandatory, in my mind, that I attend.

Attend I did and my mind was effectively blown.

At that time, I believe there were approximately 14 members on the stage and floor and ¾ of them were percussionists. I don't believe I've ever experienced such intense energy in such a small place. Everyone in attendance was intoxicated by this magickal, vibrational, audio-elixer that Tuatha Dea was serving up in massive proportions and when I left that evening I felt drugged and a bit loopy, but greatly satisfied and grounded!

I knew I had just experienced something just short of phenomenal.

So, when it was announced that they would be playing Valhalloween at Bar Marley I immediately made my plans to attend.

TUATHA DEA: Christopher Bush, Katherine Holman , Adam Ogle, Paul McGee, Tesea Dawson, Danny Mullikin Rebecca Holman

http://www.tuathadea.net/


From their FB page:

“Tuatha Dea is pure primal energy with a Celtic and World twist. The bands eclectic sound blends the tribal vibe of primitive drums with conventional and non conventional instruments such as guitar, bass, modern and Native American flutes, Didgeridoo and more as well as a myriad of vocal styles to create a truly unique sound. Born of a family drum circle, the group delivers an authentic tribal and clannish feel that not only draws the audience into the music but into the moment and family as well."



WHISP OF A THING, https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=2&v=L_GKPFIHqY8


Bar Marley



The Beach and Bonfire


You Know You're In For A Good Time When The Entrance Looks Like This...



I Spotted This Little Fellow Underneath The Stage!



Various Attendees and a Vendor

All photos, except where otherwise noted, are original. Please accept my apology for the sub-par photography. I ask for your patience as I have a goal to acquire a decent camera by Spring, at the latest (fingers crossed).

Follow me at @areynolds for all things Knoxville, Herbal, and Random!

Sort:  

Man, being the 4th vote on this after 2 hours isn't very encouraging for a post of this quality.

Keep it up @areynolds!

That is a very kind thing for you to say, @papa-pepper! Thank you! But, yeah, maybe my timing was off this evening. :(

I even dropped the link in the chat room to promote others...

Seems to have not helped...

Thank you, once again. It is very kind of you to support me so.
Never fear, Knoxville has loads of terrific talent so I suppose I'll just have to keep going to all these live events and blog about them.
~Sigh~
Life sure is tough sometimes. Lol

Yeah, that's rough...

Just hang in there little guy, you'll make it through.

😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94