Madden Road Music Fest

in #music6 years ago

A week ago, I helped out with the Madden Road Music Fest, a music festival in rural Ohio showcasing a number or local bands. About 20 bands performed, over the course of the afternoon. Most were folk-based, but there was a healthy amount of genre diversity, and some really interesting outliers. It was an excellent event, exhibiting great talent in a lively rural setting.

DSC_9465.jpg

Before the show, I helped construct one of the stages, shown above with singer-songwriter Lou Fran on it. We built the backdrop out of trees, some of them ash killed by the emerald ash borer epidemic in Ohio. We also built benches out of salvaged lumber and logs. During the show, I ran sound on one of the stages. Running sound keeps me attentive to the musicians, always listening with a critical ear, looking for ways to improve the sound. I'll list a few of the musicians that stuck out to me here.

I liked Lou Fran's (above) songwriting. His lyrics are nostalgic, which I found impactful.

DSC_9463.jpg
The American Landscape

I was tied up at another stage, and unfortunately only got to hear one or two of their songs, but what I heard sounded great, and I'd like to hear more.

DSC_9482.jpg
Daniel Dye and the Miller Road Band

I like the down-to-earth themes of Daniel Dye's lyrics, addressed in a deep and nuanced way. The classically trained string-players and backup vocalists do a great job creating a full and complex sound. Check out @danieldyemusic here on Steemit.

DSC_9517.jpg
Starving in the Belly of a Whale

These musicians have an eery and experimental sound that I found intriguing. The setting, out in the forest after dark suited them perfectly. I will definitely check out more of their music.

DSC_9541.jpg Whirlybirds

This Louisiana-style jazz band was excellent, and a lot of fun. The instrumentalists all performed complex runs impeccably, and the drummer stood out to me as technically impressive. By the end of their set, they had most of the crowd on their feet dancing. The Whirlybirds did a great job closing the festival.

I really enjoyed the Madden Road Music Festival, and am hoping to come back next year. Find out more at maddenroadmusic.com

Sort:  

Wow, I am sorry that I missed this post! Nice write-up Ben!

https://steemit.com/mgsc/@dreamseller/the-symptoms-of-breast-cancer
Sharing a useful article

Upvote and comment your doubts
Being health proffessional i warn you to treat this dreadful disease asap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17