Fabrizio Rat | Techno by hand

in #music5 years ago

rat.jpg

Fabrizio Rat

Discogs
Soundcloud
Instagram

« My project is simple. Take a piano, the classic and romantic instrument par excellence, and project it into the hypnotic and powerful soundscape of techno music »


Fabrizio Rat - Pollini

The Pianist


« After many years of practice my musical path seemed to be planned. ». « The ‘traditional’ way of playing the piano had bored me. I knew too well the instrument, I couldn’t be creative any more with the codes and rules I had learned. I was looking for a new way to approach the instrument, a balance between chance and control, similar to the feeling you get by working instinctively on synthesizers. I realized I had many things to learn from analog electronic​ instruments, which represent more than just strictness and precision. These machines, far from being ‘perfect’, almost have feelings I believe, and they behave unexpectedly and unpredictably at times. I thought that by studying and trying to discover their secrets I might be able to push to new boundaries my ‘machine’ from the very beginning, the piano. »


Fabrizio Rat - La Machina – Hammer [INV015]

La Machina - Technopiano


« I want to play like these machines that I love, to translate their exactitude and imperfection with my human nature, to open up new paths, and play with our errors. The repetition process let me enter another dimension, a state of trance where the physical effort disappears​, and control is not necessary anymore​, I just need to be carried away by sound, with a bit of luck. »


Fabrizio Rat - Felt [INVOLVE]

Five Years In Love With Involve


Unsurprisingly, it’s in front of the dancefloor, in clubs or festivals, that Fabrizio plays his live sets. With the right hand,​ he plays repetitive rhythmical patterns while the left one handles the machines and manipulates the piano strings.
His goal is to reach « the trance, to project on the dancers the hypnotic state of my right hand moving on the piano »


Fabrizio Rat - Pensiero Fisso [TR001]

Asymptote ‎– The Resistance Vol. I


Fabrizio Rat (Live) @ Marathon Gaite Lyrique, Paris (BE-AT.TV)



Music is an explosive expression of humanity!
U5dtAYGt9YqiQJ4MmAF33LYbWEtVExo_1680x8400.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow !
I have never heard about this guy and I am really surprised about his outstanding idea. Combination of techno and real piano is taking this music into completely new level. Definitely I have to check him closer because this guy is just amazing ! Great post

Really happy that you enjoyed it. Since I met Rat's work a year ago I got hooked. All the swings and different accents he gives to rhythm, because of the human error doing the arpeggios on the piano. It reminds me a Jeff Mills hypnotic melody on a fast lane.

Congratulations @arcanu! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33