You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: COVER - The Wood Brothers - That's What Angels Can Do

in #music7 years ago

You've got some yunk brutha. Lovely version. Big fan of the Wood Brothers here. I agree that Oliver has one of the most textured voices out there, just superb and original. Chris has been one of my favorites for many years since discovering MMW. Upvoted and following you now!

Also, I echo @gardenbsquared in wondering about your production - camera, audio, etc. Check out some of my videos, my production is horrible and I need help!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Thanks very much man, I honestly wasn't sure that anyone would know of them - they're unknown here in the UK.

Mission for today is to check out MMW, I read about them before but was put off a little when the word avant-garde was used.

As far as my production goes, I'm pleased that it's been noticed! I wasn't all that pleased with the playback on this as it seems I forgot to set the mic level properly & there was clipping & other artefacts.

I use the 'selfie' camera on the iPhone 6. A focusrite itrack pocket (it's a phone stand with a stereo mic built in & I record into the Acapella app - you can use eq, compression & reverb in the app and it helps to neaten it all up.

I'm on my way to work right now. It I'll swing by your posts again later and see if there are any recommendations I can make (may include purchases)

Nice man, even more info here after I saw what you wrote on my post! Thanks.

Yeah, MMW are beastly man, like, jungle groove shaman music. I love them dearly.

More along the Wood Brothers bent, you should check out the Barr Brothers. I don't know if you ever knew The Slip, they were out of Boston in the late 90s/early 2000s. Andrew and Brad Barr started this new project probably 6 years ago or so, with a harpist and some multi-instrumentalists. Gorgeous stuff.

No worries, I always like to give as full an answer as I can!

I gave them a shot & there was some really groovy stuff that I liked and then there was some more 'conceptual' stuff that wasn't for me. I can definitely appreciate the musicianship though.

I've got the album 'sleeping operator' by the Barr bros & there is a lot of nice stuff on it. I'm not sure I've ever heard of 'The Slip' before.

Any thoughts on the Punch Brothers?

Don't know the Punch Brothers. Can you recommend an album to check out?

Can I also just say, that I was going through boxes of CDs the other day and really lamenting the fact that I've purchased music pretty much exclusively digitally over the past ten years, save for some LPs here and there. It's sad to not have a physical album that is not just a burned CD. Just a thought I had that I haven't shared with anyone.

I'd definitely recommend 'Who's Feeling Young Now?' For me It strikes the best balance between demonstrating technical ability while retaining its commercial sensibilities (for lack of better words!)

Ah man, I haven't bought CDs in years either. I remember getting excited for album releases as a teenager and reading the lyric booklets on the way home because I could only play CDs at home!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34